My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights

I’m still adjusting to the idea that the year begins in January and ends in December. After being either in the classroom as a teacher, or having kids in school, it seemed for the longest time the year began in September and ended late June, with a couple months off in-between.  Regardless of what calendar you follow, I’m sharing my 2013 highlights chronicled in my blog. And this marks my 300th post since starting the blog in April 2011.

For sure, there were two family highlights: Lydia’s senior year of college and subsequent graduation; Photo1  and the birth of grandson Nakshone Yair.   0-9She’s now forging new frontiers in San Francisco and he’s rolling over and beginning solid foods.

I traveled to Ohio for tennis matches and academic events,DSCN1150  to Utah to ski, Maine to bike,  and also had a couple short international trips to Switzerland and England.

I continued to cycle and appreciate the natural world via the bike.

Two historical events occurred this year that affected me personally. The 50th anniversary of the March on Washington, and the Supreme Court’s passage of DOMA.    The struggle for equality and justice continues.

Professionally, I interviewed Ed Kane, a Pearl Harbor survivor, wrote a full-length play (producers?), and am writing and editing for a couple of non-profit organizations.

I read tons of books, saw plays and movies.

I met blog friend Dawn Landau and she honored me with the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award, which I in turn passed on to other bloggers. I’m particulary proud of my mother, who has started a blog and finds it therapeutic physically and mentally.

Happy 2014!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in bike riding, Books, celebrations, Civil Rights History, Cycling, daughters, Family, Friendship, Grandchildren, travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights

  1. Drjcwash says:

    I can’t believe it has been 300 posts. I have enjoyed reading each one of them. I learned about new books, plays, movies and great places to travel too. Thank-you and Happy New Year. Keep writing, cycling, reading and traveling.

    Like

  2. Mazel Tov! Here’s to 300 more and another get together, in 2014! I look forward to both. xo

    Like

  3. Congrats on 300! I have loved everyone of them!! Great recap too!

    Like

  4. Congrats on 300 posts and all the adventures you managed to have in 2013! Happy 2014 Lisa, may all your dreams come true!
    Diana

    Like

  5. jmgoyder says:

    Congratulations and Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. What a good, happy year!

    Like

  7. ShimonZ says:

    Congratulations on 300 posts… that’s a nice round number, And may you and we have the pleasure of many more. Happy New Year too.

    Like

  8. Leah says:

    Congratulations on 300 posts! I completely agree that it seems the year goes from September to June. Especially with the Jewish New Year in the fall as well.

    Like

  9. That is an impressive body of work, Lisa. I love the idea of linking to highlights from the year.

    Like

  10. Jean says:

    You must be proud of your mother. Are all your international travel trips for strictly vacation/personal reasons?

    Like

    • I get to accompany my husband who goes for work. The weekend in London was vacation/personal. Thanks for stopping in! We have common outdoor interests.

      On Fri, Jan 3, 2014 at 8:12 PM, cyclingrandma

      Like

Leave a Reply

