Valentine’s Musings: Skiing Then & Now

Valentine’s Day, 1982.

I’d bought my soon-to-be fiancé cross country skis and we were headed to a little inn in New Hampshire for the weekend. He wanted to get engaged on Valentine’s Day because it was his parent’s wedding anniversary.  He’d always skied downhill.

That morning, my mother called. My father’s mother, who we all called Rosie, had died.  She was 82. Instead of skiing, we returned to Connecticut for her funeral.

I began skiing while in high school; my friends skied and I joined them.  In New England, you ski. In college, I discovered cross country, and preferred gliding through the woods on a trail instead of speeding down mountains. I liked the equipment- thin, light weight skis and boots that are easy to put on and take off.  And you don’t need to buy a lift ticket, you just need a trail, a lawn or even a snow-covered street.  CIMG2381

As a family, we began taking ski trips, usually during February when we were off from school. We’d rent a condo, so cooked most meals and had enough space to spread out.  It was a great way to have a family vacation—everyone was outside and active, we’d end the day tired and hungry, play games and watch a movie and do it all again for about five days. The children quickly surpassed me in skill; I plateaued as a lower intermediate. No moguls or black diamonds for me.  I’m happy to ski wide, groomed trails, especially those marked “Easiest Way” down.

Now grown, the boys don’t ski and our daughter went with friends during her winter break.

Valentine’s Day 2013.

We’re in Utah for a few days, mixing up downhill, cross country, and snow- shoeing.

I admit I’ll never love downhill skiing. And aging doesn’t help. There’s that fear of falling and becoming injured. We haven’t been in three years because once I started biking I didn’t want to miss cycling season due to a ski injury.

Yet  I love being outdoors and exercising.  We’re staying in a hotel on the mountain so it’s easy ski-in, ski -out. There’s a pool and hot tub. The scenery is gorgeous. Pine trees cover the mountain.  The snow is like soft billowy clouds. The crisp, cold air exhilarates. CIMG2387 CIMG2386CIMG2389 CIMG2391

Happy Valentine’s Day!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in celebrations, exercise, Family, holidays, parenting, sports, Trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Valentine’s Musings: Skiing Then & Now

  1. OmaOrBubby says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! Enjoy your vacation and all the best. I prefer biking to skiing! Lol. But it sure seems exciting…:)

    Like

  2. MerCyn says:

    Sounds like a fabulous vacation. I, too, no longer downhill ski because of fear of falling and injuries. We cross country and snow shoe.

    Like

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day. Great pictures.

    Like

  4. Adeena says:

    You guys look great in your ski outfits!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day! Love this post and the great pictures. ❤

    Like

  6. What a perfect Valentine’s Day! Enjoy, Lisa!

    Like

  7. Patti Winker says:

    Our experiences sound similar. I became a ‘cross country’ skier during the mid 70s and 80s. Lots of trails in Wisconsin, plus just heading out the back door over the frozen lakes. Opportunities galore! Then I got a wild notion (around age 32) to try downhill. It was funny, but also fun. I never was REAL good, but enjoyed it. We skied the hills in northern Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan… renting cabins with the family, etc. Such wonderful memories.

    Fast forward a few years (laugh… snort! a few…) and I don’t downhill ski anymore for the same reason you don’t; I don’t want to suffer an injury and not be able to bike, or walk… I actually prefer to snowshoe at this point. I love powering through deep snow rather than gliding through it. Go figure. 😉

    Thanks for sharing your pics and story. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  8. very happy for you!

    On Thu, Feb 14, 2013 at 6:03 PM, cyclingrandma

    Like

  9. Leah says:

    Looks like fun! Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  10. Amy says:

    Your beautiful ski photos reminded me the wonderful ski experience we had in Colorado…

    Like

  11. Pingback: My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights | cyclingrandma

  12. Pingback: Utah: Skiing , Snowshoeing & Polygamy Brew | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

