Cycling Diary: Wine, Onions & Socks

In between a new baby and our daughter moving, we’ve managed to get in some scenic cycling. We  have many “favorite” rides we do again and again. Crossing the Delaware River over the historic Dingman’s Bridge  DSCN1316on  a recent ride through national park lands with friends  DSCN1354we encountered a mother bear and her cub. Thankfully, she wasn’t interested in us.

There’s nothing we like more than discovering new rides.

We rode from our Milford, PA house to Orson, PA a couple of weeks ago, visiting friends with a gorgeous old farmhouse.  0-20We had reconned the route previously and did a 124 mile loop—57 the first day and 67 the second. Nestled on a hill near a ski resort, the terrain is steep hills with magnificent views and little traffic.  DSCN1359 We stopped for second breakfast at the Cherry Ridge Airport—a one landing strip operation for private planes. DSCN1356The manager pointed out a plane worth $600,000.  Road biking is a much less expensive pursuit!

We’ve been exploring the lower part of Orange County, NY.  180px-Map_of_New_York_highlighting_Orange_County.svg

We began and ended a ride at the Warwick Valley Winery & Distillery, traversing Pine Island, or the Black Dirt region. Originally called “the drowned lands” formed by the melting glaciers 12,000 years ago, its known for its onion crops.  Nothing like unwinding with wine post ride! 0-18

I often pack peanut butter sandwiches, mine with jam; Matt’s with slices of red onion. A former social studies teacher of our sons used to take these when he backpacked. A bit smelly, but crunchy and hydrating.  I’ll stick to jam.  I need constant refueling and have fruit and nut bars in my jersey pockets.

I’m a bit obsessed with cycling socks. I love the jerseys too but enjoy wearing fun socks. Here’s a few: photophoto-30-17

We went with our Orson friends  to a dinner party where someone asked us if we were “real” cyclists.  “Do you wear spandex?”  Yes, we do. But that doesn’t make us any more real than those that don’t. I enjoyed this Wall Street Journal article about slow bicycle racing.  It’s all about the journey.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in bike riding, Cycling, exercise, food, Nature, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cycling Diary: Wine, Onions & Socks

  1. Red onion on peanut butter? Hmmm… Think I’ll stick to the jam too!

    Love the photos — nice to be along for the ride while sitting at my desk this morning!

    Like

  2. I’m exhausted Lisa! Please share your secret for stamina and strength!! And this post just got me singing “I see by your outfit, that you are a cowboy.” I am suitably impressed lady, and now must drag myself to the gym 🙂

    Like

  3. Patti Winker says:

    Lovely pictures! I am so envious right now and so hope to plan a bike trip soon. Love the socks! I just wear my plain ones but now I’m thinking I need to update. 😉

    Your title really caught my attention. At first I thought; “How is this going to come together?” Now I know. Yes, a vineyard makes the perfect stop on a bike ride. I think I’m going to try the peanut butter and onion sandwich thing. I use natural peanut butter (so it’s not sweet) and we have Vidalia onions down here (which are nice and sweet), so I think the combination will just taste nutty and delicious. The socks were a nice surprise, and very, very fun.

    Thanks for sharing your adventure with us!

    Like

  4. I wish I’d never stopped cycling – impressed with the terrain and distance you and your husband take on!

    Like

  5. mercyn620 says:

    Didn’t realize hub and I were on the forefront of a new – or more accurately renewed – trend.
    I do wear the spandex bottoms with two layers – the padded layer and the shorts. Need pads for long rides. Sightseeing and cycling, perhaps with a stop at Starbucks, is my idea of a great way to spend a beautiful day!

    Like

  6. Leah says:

    My husband used to be a huge cyclist and he always bought those great cycling socks. He gave me a few cute pairs too (although I don’t cycle).

    Like

  7. ShimonZ says:

    I used to take nuts and raisins with me. Peanut butter sandwiches are close. Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    Like

  8. You never cease to amaze me Lisa! You adventurous, wild woman… what a fun post… Almost, ALMOST, makes me want to ride more… if it didn’t hurt my butt so much! Gotta say though, onion and pb, that is just too yucky for words. First time I’ve ever heard of it!

    Like

  9. tchistorygal says:

    I’m good with jam. I don’t like onions on my sandwiches or in salad. Sounds like you are having fun in spite of your daughter being out here in lovely CA. 🙂

    Like

  10. Coming East says:

    Um…Hubby and I took a two-mile walk last night after dinner. Does that count for anything? LOL. Hurrah for you all that you do that!

    Like

  11. Pingback: My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

