Maine Moments

We spent a few days on the Maine coast, biking and hiking. Crisp cool air, wildflowers, water everywhere, and lobster.  Every town has a library,  a post office, more than one bookstore, a bike shop, and a yarn store featuring hand-dyed yarn spun from local sheep and alpaca.

DSCN1220DSCN1235DSCN1248DSCN1233DSCN1240DSCN1214DSCN1219DSCN1253

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in bike riding, Cycling, environment, exercise, Knitting, Nature, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Maine Moments

  1. SMB says:

    Just gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Love Maine and ah, what a sweet, sad grave. Is there picture book potential in Spot’s story?

    Like

  3. Gorgeous. Makes me want to pack up my bike and get pedalling to the coast.

    Like

  4. What a beautiful place. Thanks for the pictures.

    Like

  5. Coming East says:

    Maine is one of my favorite places. That and Truro on Cape Cod. Love the pictures! What towns did you stop in? I’ve been to Ogunquit many times.

    Like

  6. Don’t get me started on lobster, love this!

    Like

  7. sounds like it was made for you right down to the hiking and biking trails and yarn! It looks beautiful and reminds me of the Canadian maritimes. I love the memorial to the lighthouse dog!

    Like

  8. Leah says:

    You had me at libraries, bookstores and Maine coast. Sounds like a lovely trip.

    Like

  9. This looks like a wonderful trip! The stairs on the lighthouse make me dizzy just looking at the photo! Beautiful pictures, all of them.

    Like

  10. I was particularly interested in this post because we are planning a trip to Maine this summer. Thanks for adding some must-see stops to our itinerary.

    Like

  11. Ms. Roberts says:

    Very cool. Love the photos.
    <—-Born and bred in Maine.

    Like

  12. SO beautiful… how I love Maine.

    Like

  13. Barbara Klein says:

    Lovely! Reminds me of our trips

    Like

  14. Pingback: My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

