Brushing up my Shakespeare

December has been Shakespeare theater month for us it seems; we saw three plays: Pericles, Richard III and Twelfth Night.

Pericles,  The Shakespeare Theatre of New Jersey’s  last show of its season, tells the story of a prince seeking justice, a home, and love. Its vivid costumes, dances and sword fights evoke a Mediterranean setting.  If you’re in the area, the show runs through Dec. 29th.

Shakespeare on Broadway is having its own resurgence; there have been several productions of Macbeth running simultaneously, which we didn’t see, opting instead for the acclaimed transports from London’s Globe Theatre Company of Richard III and Twelfth Night.  These shows, featuring all male casts lead by actor Mark Rylance, feature period dress, candlelit stages, and authentic music to replicate how the plays would have been performed when they were written.

Though we’ve seen these plays before, it was well worth seeing them again.

I love seeing different interpretations, seeing how the play can be set in different time periods and places than originally intended yet the words remain original. I like knowing some lines, and the expectation of hearing them delivered different ways.

Who doesn’t remember these famous lines from Richard III:  “Now is the winter of our discontent …” and   “A horse! a horse! My kingdom for a horse!”

Or “If music be the food of love, play on” from Twelfth Night.

Each performance I hear another line that resonates and usually dig up my college “complete plays” later that evening to reread bits of the play.  And the plots? Many seem as if they were created based on today’s newspaper headlines; all the themes that make us human appear in these 400+ year old treasures.

In these productions, the actors get dressed on stage, giving the audience a chance to witness the many layers of clothing – most the actors had assistance from costume crew; some had items sewn onto them. The men playing women wore white makeup and red lipstick, and the dress bodices were pushed up against their chests in ways to create cleavage.

On stage in New York City through mid-February. Not to be missed.

(Title borrowed from Cole Porter’s “Brush Up Your Shakespeare” from  Kiss Me Kate, the musical version of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Education, New York City, Reading, reviews, Shakespeare, Theater, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brushing up my Shakespeare

  1. Love costumes. My career in another life would be costume director!

    Like

  2. I love imagining you and M in the city, right now, enjoying all of this. Sounds divine! Send me your play… I’d love to read it. May take me a while, I tire easily, but just sitting here. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve never seen Shakespear outside of our Shakespear in the park productions in parks in the summer. I think it would be amazing to see done as it was 400 years ago with an all male cast!

    Like

  4. gabi138 says:

    Uncanny! Just wrote a blog post on this very subject today but have scheduled it for New Year’s Eve. The Globe Theatre’s Twelfe Night was the highlight of my theatre going year, possibly life!

    Like

  5. Pingback: My 300th Post: 2013 Highlights | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

