Announcing: A Glub Glub & A Shake Shake: A Cookbook

I was seated on a flight from New Jersey to San Francisco and overhead the attendant asking customers in business class if they wanted blintzes for breakfast.

I thought of my mother’s—hand made, light batter, carefully mixed cheeses, lightly fried, served with dollops of sour cream. There’s no way whatever they were offering could come close… (Preface)

And so an idea was born. I thought, why not write down my mother’s recipes, many of which are in her head, for all of us to have? We started last summer; she’d recite the recipes and I’d write them, asking her to clarify measurements and methods. At one point she said to add a “glub glub” of honey. “You know, turn the bottle over and glub, glub.” Likewise, a “shake shake” of a spice is just that. Turn the container over and give it a couple shakes.

We laughed a lot putting this little book together, now available on Amazon. My sister Madeline did the illustrations.

Cover hi res

 

It’s a wonderful legacy for my children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews. And the recipes are good too! You’ll find  her good old fashioned pot roast, her innovative Kiwi Lime pie, and of course the best chopped liver and matzo ball recipes ever.

Proceeds from sales will benefit The Killingworth Foundation, founded by my father when he served as the town’s First Selectman. The non-profit provides funds to local service organizations and scholarships for students. My mother serves on the scholarship committee.

 

This entry was posted in Books, daughters, Family, food, Grandchildren, health, Judaism, parenting, Recipes, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Announcing: A Glub Glub & A Shake Shake: A Cookbook

  1. jfrances40 says:

    I love the title! What a labor of love and a lovely family project and gift to enjoy forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Leah says:

    What a great idea! I love this! Will check it out on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great idea, Lisa. I love the title!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 50 Things We’re Grateful For: Bloggers Unite! | cyclingrandma

Leave a comment