Grandma Reading: Lemony Snicket!

When I saw my eldest grandson (age 7 1/2) reading The Bad Beginning, the first in Lemony Snicket’s 13-volume “Series of Unfortunate Events”, I asked him a couple questions. While I’d heard of the series and author, I never had read any of his works as they were published when my children were older.  

I jumped at the chance to read the book as my grandson did, offering to be able to talk about it with him. We chatted this morning about the book, discussing whether it’s too scary for kids, who our favorite character is, and agreeing that we should try to read the entire series. (I immediately ordered a boxed set to appear in time for next week’s long car trip to visit his other grandparents. I’ll get mine from my library.)

There’s not much better than talking about a book with a grandchild! These stories hook you and keep you wondering what will happen to the three brave Baudelaire siblings who find themselves in dangerous situations among unsavory characters.

My adult reading this summer seems to have been mostly non-fiction. There’s no time like the present to read Hyeonseo Lee’s The Girl with Seven Names: A North Korean Defector’s Story.  I learned a lot from Haroon Moghul’s How to Be a Muslim: An American Story, and am laughing aloud while reading Senator Al Franken’s memoir, Giant of the Senate.

I’ve been taking a playwriting course so had a hefty reading list of plays and I loved listening to Margaret Atwood’s The Heart Goes Last on tape while driving.

What have you been reading?

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Grandchildren, parenting, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma Reading: Lemony Snicket!

  1. I enjoyed the Series of Unfortunate Events too. They’re witty as well as scary, and my kids got that. In fact they were much less frightened than I was. I tried watching the tv series recently but it wasn’t good (just in case you were thinking of checking it out with your grandson. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I heard the movie is much better than the tv series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

