While Trump Tweets, Congress Acts

While Trump continues to distract us with his horrific behavior and lies,  Members of Congress are busy following his edicts and submitting bills that promise to destroy the nation as we know it. This list is circulating social media; I used it as my letter this week to my congressman. It speaks for itself in its range of damage.

Dear Rep. Lance:

Please vote NO on the following bills:

  1. HR 861 Terminate the Environmental Protection Agency
  2. HR 610 Vouchers for Public Education
    3. HR 899 Terminate the Department of Education
    4. HJR 69 Repeal Rule Protecting Wildlife
    5. HR 370 Repeal Affordable Care Act
    6. HR 354 Defund Planned Parenthood
    7. HR 785 National Right to Work (this one ends unions)
    8. HR 83 Mobilizing Against Sanctuary Cities Bill
    9. HR 147 Criminalizing Abortion (“Prenatal Nondiscrimination Act”)
    10. HR 808 Sanctions against Iran
    11. HR 622 Removing federal policing from National Parks turning over to local authorities.

There’s no one more important than the other; however the education bills remind me of my years teaching.   The schools I’ve taught in serve students breakfast and lunch. My sister’s school sends students home with bags of food every Friday.

Being fed, so one can be  productive at work and at school, shouldn’t be a privilege for the rich.

Call, write, and visit your representatives. Track their voting.

Student portrait of me reading Amanda at Bat at Madeline's school

Student portrait of me reading Amanda at Bat at Madeline’s school

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Education, environment, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to While Trump Tweets, Congress Acts

  1. This is all so serious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

