Pantone Green & A Giveaway

It’s that time of year again. Yes, holidays of course. But I’m referring to Pantone, the color mavens who select a particular hue for the world to embrace, sending the fashion world into a frenzy to create items in the new tone. For spring, Pantone chose a limey-green, and I couldn’t be happier.

Most people who know me know I love the color green. I drive a green-colored car and much of our home interior is in some shade of green. I practice green habits, by recycling, not wasting energy and water, and using public transport when I can. And I engage in “green” sports, like hiking and biking that take me outdoors where I can appreciate the natural world. And I eat green foods, like kale, spinach and salad to stay healthy.

This year green holds even more importance than merely a change in fashion or home décor. With the announcement of the new director of the Environmental Protection Agency, the recognition and disastrous impacts of climate change, and overall concern for the planet hang by a precarious thread. Green jobs, green energy, green pastures, green apples. All this and more may come under scrutiny and threat. Turning back policies designed to save the earth will result in poor health for all.

As I wrote here, we all need to be vigilant and vocal. Being green is much more than what we wear or what we paint.

Back to colors. I love orange too. In fact the only color that doesn’t seem to suit me is red. That’s my opinion. My mother tells me red looks great on me. She’s another color-lover and we wear colors in scarves and stockings, and everything else. In 2012, I published an orange book, Tangerine Tango. Included is an essay by writer and health educator, Judy Ackley Brown called “Serene Green,” where she discusses Green or Eco Therapy and encourages us to “take a bath in the forest.”

I’m thinking it’s time for a new anthology with a green-hued cover. Any writer interested in submitting please contact me. And in honor of Pantone Green, I’m giving away a copy of Tangerine Tango, still available and a perfect stocking stuffer or hostess gift.

Leave a comment why you’d like it and I’ll have the computer do a random selection in a week or so.

Happy Green Living!

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, commentary, environment, Fashion, health, Nature, news, Trees, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pantone Green & A Giveaway

  1. jfrances40 says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Lisa! No need to add me to the giveaway list because I have several copies myself…… I truly love Tangerine Tango! It is a lovely book and gift idea.
    And….I would love to be included in your new writing project!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jfrances40 says:

    And yes…..we have work to do on the green front….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hooray for green and Judy’s green piece and Tangerine Tango and you and your mom. Love color too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m going to go with Line Limbo as the title (fruit plus dance…) 🍈🙂

    Like

  5. Fantastic Idea! Fikra Beia! Will discuss ideas when we get together. How about “Lively Lime”.

    The color lime, seems to have given way to a revival of avacado and to something that’s a poor ex-
    cuse for chartreuse.

    Like

  6. How about “Love those Limes” ?

    Like

  7. Green, green, there can’t be enough of it! In every sense. Great idea, Lisa, and something for you to put your passions into, as we face the orange monster. :-/

    Like

Leave a Reply

