Adult Coloring Books: Color Your Dreams

It’s hard to avoid the adult coloring book craze. They’re prominently displayed by the checkout counters of every grocery, drug and big box store I enter, though I haven’t personally seen anyone buy any as usually they’re too busy looking at their phones or unloading their carts.

Thanks to Scottish author, Johanna Basford, the industry has taken off. Her 2013 title, Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Colouring Book became an instant bestseller and spurred others to join the publishing bonanza. And the news industry hasn’t ignored the fad, writing about its success and giving advice on how to produce your best effort.   “An estimated 12 million adult coloring books sold in the U.S last year, up from 1 million in 2014.”

Adults are coloring to relieve stress, relive their childhoods, or to keep their hands busy when phones aren’t allowed, like doctors’ waiting rooms. (I knit).

We had one son and his family visiting us at our lake in PA these past 5 days. My brother and my niece joined us. Dasha,  an accomplished artist, shared some of her drawing techniques with the kids.  IMG_1511

They prefer to draw “outside the lines,”  and don’t seem that eager to color in books. I know my kids had coloring books at times but don’t think they ever loved them much. Free style doodling and painting led to many artistic works that were hung on refrigerators, sent to grandparents, and framed for posterity to hang on our walls.

Yet far be it from me to chastise a harmless hobby. So here’s a new adult coloring book created by illustrator Ryan Durney. He’s a master at fantastical drawings and produced

Color Your Dreams: Adult Coloring & Dream Journal Unknown-1 after spending months fulfilling orders for commercial adult coloring books. I met Ryan through the hireanllustrator.com and contracted with him to illustrate my soon-to-be announced picture book, Clara & Her Nutcracker.  9781522752509_p0_v1_s192x300

Please check out Color Your Dreams if you’re an adult into coloring.

And if you’re into anything Nutcracker, please check out Clara & Her Nutcracker!

In the meantime, I found this cartoon amusing:

10338313_1118619168189566_490242629549574789_n

 

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Family, parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Adult Coloring Books: Color Your Dreams

  1. jfrances40 says:

    I have enjoyed rediscovering my childhood love of coloring! There are some fabulous books out there! Thanks for sharing these, Lisa.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pat Skene says:

    I have loved colouring books since a child. And I loved colouring with my granddaughter. My husband bought me a couple,of these adult colouring books last year and I still enjoy this pastime with my granddaughter, who is now a teenager.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There must be something wrong with me. I aways have some reading knitting to do in th doctor’s office and never found the need for coloring books or texting. Idid enjoy coloring books when I was young. Tho not as creative as free drawing. They are fun and educational. I’m sure there are some great adult coloring books, many with cartoons.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nothing wrong with you! I agree. Doesn’t appeal to me at all as a past time. Happy to draw/color with the kids but prefer reading to them. And of course, I bring magazines and knitting to doctors’ offices.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Leah says:

    Adult coloring books give me major anxiety. I know it’s supposed to be relaxing, but I’d take a book any day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well I’d hope not major anxiety! Yes, give me a good book. But it seems to be very therapeutic for many people. Go figure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

