Being a Mentor

My friend Dr. Judy Washington. Saving lives every day.

A Family Doctor's Reflection

I look back over my career and realize something very important. Every patient I cared for, every position I held and every time I had the courage to change my location provided an opportunity for my professional and personal growth. There were painful moments of uncertainty and regret but they gave me strength and determination. It was really the colleagues I worked with that in their small ways lifted me beyond those difficult moments and allowed me to develop my clinical skills.

When I started in academic Family Medicine in 1996, there were so few African-American and Latino educators in Family Medicine. Unfortunately, that is still true but for those of us who are there, we are committed to the next generation. Those pioneers that I met are still paving the way for me and others through their work.  I have been fortunate to have those mentors call upon me…

View original post 579 more words

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being a Mentor

  1. I admire your courage. Change is broadening

    Like

Leave a Reply

