Hiking Havasupai

We might never have heard of the Havasupai Falls  had it not been for our guide from last spring’s hiking and biking trip in Utah,  who raved about this majestic place.

The falls are part of the Grand Canyon, but not part of the national park as the land is owned by the Supai Tribe, who manage the tourism associated with the waterfalls. There are only three ways to get to the falls: hiking, helicopter, or horses.

We chose to hike the 10 miles down and 10 miles back, spending a day in-between exploring the falls and swimming.

Organized by Arizona Outback Adventures, the trip included the transport from Scottsdale, AZ, a 5- hour drive to the trailhead, all meals, tents, and camping supplies. We brought our own sleeping bags and daypacks and opted to pay a bit more to have our bags carried in by the mules.

It’s the best of both worlds. The splendor of the Grand Canyon: breathtaking panoramas illuminated by brilliant sun, crisp air and starry nights; and the magic of the falls: blue-green water, thunderous sounds of the river providing a natural symphony, and deep pools for swimming and jumping.

I haven’t backpacked or camped in many years and while I didn’t carry a heavy pack, I stuffed my daypack with all sorts of anti-inflammatory pills, moleskin for blisters, and a whole roll of toilet paper. I wanted to be prepared.

What I loved – aside from the incredible scenery- was talking to the various people hiking and camping. The site attracts people of all ages from all over. And I loved being off the grid. No phone service. No electricity. Just for a few days.

IMG_1644 IMG_1696 IMG_1691 IMG_1681 IMG_1675 IMG_1651

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in aging, environment, exercise, Nature, sports, travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hiking Havasupai

  1. Pat Skene says:

    Sounds so remarkable Lisa! Lucky lucky you. Sadly I can’t enjoy this type of thing anymore, so I get my kicks from reading about other peoples adventures. Speaking of which…my book club just read, The Mountain Story, by Lori Lansens. What a book – about the adventures and misadventures of getting lost in the mountains. An incredible read…you might want to check it out…survivalist that you are. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hardly a survivalist– this was modified “glamping”- others did all the work. I just had to walk!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So beautiful Lisa. I would love to do on horseback! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on careabouteducation and commented:
    20 miles, great. Nice share and nice pict. Thanks

    Like

  5. Gorgeous! And I think I’m ready for some off the grid too (even though I basically love the grid).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jane Stein says:

    How were the temperatures? By the way, you are getting younger and younger, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You kept your promise and showed us the pictures of you, Arizona and other pleasures. You went to some beautiful sites; sounds like a wonderful trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A bit rushed– could have used another day perhaps not in the canyon but just in AZ.

    Like

  9. Huffygirl says:

    I want to go there! Were you camping in tents or cabins? Was it cold at night?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Remember our hike down the Grand Canyon. When we wee wait or dinner we could tell the hikers from one who went down by mule.The hkers sat while waiting for dinner. The riders stood. Gorgeous pctures.i

    Like

  11. This looks AMAZING, Lisa, and as you know, I recently fell madly in love with the Grand Canyon! I’m so impressed with your stamina and passion! Wow!

    Like

  12. tchistorygal says:

    That sounds very ambitious! The view and experience certainly paid off, though! I’m impressed!

    Like

  13. Beautiful photos and it sounds like it was a peaceful and relaxing adventure.

    Like

  14. Pingback: The Bear, My Birthday & Facebook | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

