Future Travel: Outer Space

“Sometimes I wish we still used typewriters,” my mother said recently, expressing her frustration with her computer and passwords. I was trying to post her latest blog and couldn’t get into her site, no matter how many times we changed the password.

While I empathize about the glitches that interfere with computer use, I certainly wouldn’t want to return to the days of carbon paper and white out.

Change, as depicted in the finale of Downton Abbey, is inevitable. I know the world my grandchildren and their children face will be very different than my life.

I watched in awe the PBS documentary A Year in Space that reduced to 60 minutes NASA astronaut’s Scott Kelly 340 days in the International Space Station. I can’t imagine myself hopping an excursion to Mars or elsewhere outside the atmosphere. I’d be way too claustrophobic and way too homesick for my family to undertake such an incredible endeavor.

Yet space, our last frontier, poses challenges and promise to solve some of our issues on Earth. In addition to the multitudes of scientific research undertaken, Kelly shared his admiration for and friendship with his colleagues, noting that if the leaders of Russia and the United States spent some time in the space capsule, there wouldn’t be any problems on Earth.

I also don’t see myself behind a self-driving car. I’m way too much of a control-nut to yield that over to a computer, though I love trains and board airplanes as needed.

My husband just had elective eye surgery to correct vision in one eye, eliminating the need to wear any glasses except for sun. He’d had lasik surgery years ago and wanted this last step. Not me. I’ll happily stay with my eyeglass wardrobe, switching between prescription sunglasses and regular progressive bifocals.

I grew up with a rotary telephone, and used a slide rule and manual typewriter. We read maps to plan trips and cooked food in ovens and on stoves, and watched a black and white television. I could go on. I’m not wallowing in nostalgia, just curious what the future will bring.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Education, Family, Grandchildren, History, Movies & TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Future Travel: Outer Space

  1. jfrances40 says:

    Yes, and I wish people would slow down! Too much cell phone gazing and what about social interaction…..only the future will tell. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Me too! I think sometimes I’d rather go back to a simple life, without the racism and sexism of course.

    Like

  3. Colline says:

    Technology has changed so much in the last 50years. It is hard to imagine what other changes we will experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa, I still cook in the oven and on the stove and I’m with you in that I have no need to go to space! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I miss looking at real maps, but nervous driver here; I’d go for an automatic car.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tchistorygal says:

    Hard to say, isn’t it. While researching my book, I found a 1972 depiction of Tulare Counth in 2000. Skyscrapers and flying cars dominated. Our area never got that, but it does have new street lights, sidewalks and landscaping. 😀😀😀 great post!

    Like

  7. Ditto, ditto, ditto! And LOVED A Year In Space! I was a huge fan of Scott Kelly’s Twitter feed… as excited as I was for his return, it has been sad to not tune into his daily updates from space anymore!

    Like

Leave a Reply

