I’m with Hillary

images

I walked into the crowded conference room, joining about three dozen strangers, sitting at long folding tables, phones in hand.

The scene was familiar and welcoming. I was taking part in an activity I’ve done countless times before: volunteering with a political campaign.

United by our common goal, we played call after call, taking quick breaks to chitchat about ourselves, but mostly focused on the task ahead.

Last night, I called voters in Colorado, from a New York City office, urging people to attend their local caucuses, reminding them of their polling places, and persuading them to vote for my candidate.

I’ve been a political junkie since I was young, joining my parents as they campaigned for local candidates, including themselves. Both my mother and father served on the town’s Board of Selectmen, my father serving as First Selectman. They’ve been staunch Democrats their entire lives, as I have.

I’ve stuffed envelopes, walked door- to -door, and made phone call after phone call. I registered to vote as soon as I turned 18 and insisted my three children do the same. When I taught, I’d often share news stories about other nations where voting wasn’t a right, or about countries first holding their first elections to create a democratic government.

Some say you shouldn’t talk about politics. Like sex and money, these are topics that shouldn’t be aired in public. Maybe that belief applies to two of these topics, though  there’s nothing subtle about what’s shown in movies and television.

To me, politics is life and death. I’m happy to talk about it all the time, hoping to convince people to consider what I believe.

Take a recent visit to New Orleans. My taxi cab driver eagerly chatted about the city and his life story. When I asked him what he thought of the current political situation, he claimed that when the state had a woman governor, (Katherine Blanco, 2004-2008), she threatened to “take away the Saints,” the city’s professional football team, and “no one messes with the Saints,” he said, showing his obvious distrust of a woman politician. I tried to convince him he couldn’t equate one person with another and later I couldn’t find anything to substantiate his belief about the Saints, which shows how important it is to know the facts when voting.

This presidential election, I’m with HER.

Hillary Rodham Clinton has been a role model to young women since she served as First Lady, then as US Senator, then as Secretary of State. She’s devoted her life to social change to better the lives of those less fortunate. She has the worldly experience and has dealt with bullies before. I’m hopeful she can tackle the one before her now. She’s the smartest person running; it’s time for love and kindness, time for her to take charge.

It’s a big birthday year for me. I’ve told my friends and family I need no gifts, only donations to the Hillary for President campaign.

When I was in high school, there was a popular slogan printed on t-shirts.

“A Woman’s Place is in the House… and the Senate.”

I’d amend that now to add: “And in the Oval Office.”

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Education, Family, news, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m with Hillary

  1. jfrances40 says:

    Wonderful! And happy birthday in advance! 💐

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good! Me too this time. My daughter’s first internship was at the CDF where she is a legend! Everywhere we go in the world people are afraid of Trump

    Liked by 1 person

  3. susanissima says:

    I’m right there with you, Lisa. Hillary is a lighthouse in a dark and Trumpacious sea of fear-mongering.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m with you Lisa. Well as with you as I can be as a Canadian. I like Hillary and I agree, she’s the smartest person in the room.

    I heard on the radio this morning that our Federal government’s website was crashing. It had a message that read, ‘We’re sorry, we’re working on fixing our site as quickly as we can.’ Apparently after super Tuesday (is that what it’s called?) with the high support for Trump, Americans were googling ‘how to move to Canada’ in droves! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry our national paranoia has affected Canada– there are some websites offering advice on how to move there.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Hillary: Play that Woman Card! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

