Announcing: LifeCycle Stories & A Give-Away

Is your history a mystery to your family?

After about two years of thinking and planning, I’m launching a business as a personal historian called LifeCycle Stories. I hope to use my journalism skills to  help individuals, community organizations and businesses preserve their legacies through words and photographs, resulting in a published, professionally designed book.

I’ve completed two projects already: extensive interviews with an Auschwitz survivor  515K4RkJtlL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ and a family cookbook  of my mother’s recipes. Cover hi res

These are examples of projects I can offer. Other services include memoir writing workshops for book or community groups, college essay coaching, tributes and cookbooks for special occasions like anniversaries, birthdays or retirement dinners, corporate bios and newsletters, and legacy wills.

I’ve revamped my website: www.lisakwinkler.com but intend to continue blogging under www.cyclingrandma.wordpress.com. I’ve ordered business cards, and joined the professional organization, Association of Personal Historians.

To help with my launch, I’m offering my blog readers a complimentary package: two hours of interviews (via email or phone), transcribed and edited into a narrative and delivered as an electronic file. Perhaps you have a relative whose story you’d like to hear or have a treasured heirloom you’d like to know about,  or your community organization or business could use its history to share with others. If you’re interested, leave me a comment and a winner will be selected randomly.

And of course, I’d love referrals!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Family, food, Grandchildren, History, interviews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Announcing: LifeCycle Stories & A Give-Away

  1. jfrances40 says:

    How absolutely fabulous, Lisa! Please enter me….I am sure a family member of mine would have many stories to share. And I will spread the word.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Judy. You’re taken the plunge into entrepreneur-ship– I’m terrible at marketing myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jfrances40 says:

    I am not that great either but trying….😊

    Like

  4. What a great idea Lisa – I’m so excited for you! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lot’s of luck. Happy to see my apron as one of your first endevours

    Like

  6. Pat Skene says:

    Good luck with this wonderful new endeavour Lisa. I’m sure they are lots of people needing help to find their stories and get them in print. I myself put the children’s book writing aside this year to start my memoirs. Keep us posted on your progress. Your site looks great by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Leah Singer says:

    This is wonderful! Congratulations on your new endeavor!

    Like

  8. Way to go Lisa! I know you’ll be brilliant in this new career; it suits you perfectly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

