Baby Carrots? Not for Me!

Ever wonder about baby carrots? Big carrots don’t give birth to them. Nor do they grow that way. They owe their existence to a manufacturing midwife, and account for nearly 70% of US carrot sales.

Many believe they’re perfect for lunch boxes and appetizer trays, for dipping into hummus and gripping by little hands.

The carrots are cut into uniform two inch size by an industrial cutter, allowing farmers to use otherwise perfectly good produce that grows uneven or misshapen, and are often wasted. The idea heralds back to the 1980’s when California carrot farmer Mike Yorosek, faced with both a waning market and excess produce, invented the new look.  images

I don’t like them. I’ve bought them for family parties, particularly for the grandchildren. I find that if they’re not consumed immediately, they either dry out in the bag or the reverse, become slimy and rotted.

Give me carrots that look like carrots. Long, irregular, bumpy. images-1 I like peeling them (or not,  if I’m using in cooking). I serve them as carrot sticks or use the “bumpy” knife  that my grandkids also love using to help.

If we purchase all our produce already pre-washed and bagged in plastic, we’ll certainly never know where our food comes from.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Education, environment, Family, food, Grandchildren, health, Nature, parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby Carrots? Not for Me!

  1. I also dislike (and that’s an understatement!) baby carrots. They are bitter and not tasty and too slimy for me. Plus if I’m going to eat carrots which according to my nutritionist are higher in sugar content than celery or pepped or other “free” veggies” I’m not going to waste my choice on baby carrots. My mil (Gd bless her) buys me bags and bags and bags and they pile up in the fridge. We use them for chicken soup but honestly I prefer the real carrots for soup not cut up so small. I like big carrots sliced long and lengthwise. But my hubby likes baby carrots so we have them. Use them in some recipes but rarely buy them.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Letty Sue Albert says:

    The USA can fake anything, even the humble carrot. In Europe, “baby” carrots are those picked early, before they have reached full growth. They still have green tops, but are tender and small..and might I add, much more expensive than large ones. LS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pat Skene says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. They’re slimy and often smell musty. Well said! Give me a good old fashioned carrot any day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Drjcwash says:

    So true. I hate them. My kids never ate them. Even with hummus, they are bitter or tasteless.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reflections says:

    I love raw carrots, including baby carrots. And if I had my way baby carrots would be my snack of choice. Unfortunately, as a type 2 diabetic, carrots are one the few vegetables I seldom get to enjoy but I like them nonetheless. By the way, thanks for a great short read!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha love it Lisa! The best tasting carrots I ever had were grown by me in my own garden. ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tchistorygal says:

    I’ve had a few bags of them become slimy or dried out. Very sad state of affairs. I wish I could say that I grew carrots successfully. I do not. I’m just glad we can go to the store and pick out what we need at the time we need it. We are a most blessed generation. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

