Holiday Tidings

Given current events, I’m finding myself looking for meaning this holiday season.

We met up with some friends at the New York Botanical Garden’s  annual train show, a spectacle like no other, that portrays the architecture of New York landmarks in miniature, created by items from nature. Our friends proudly talked about how their son, a former student of mine, is making a living as a journalist, writing for an on-line publication devoted to ending gun violence. IMG_1136

We attended a local performance of George Frideric Handel’s 1741 Messiah. I was first introduced to this annual holiday favorite while in high school. We joined with a neighboring high school chorus, creating over 300 voices in unison. I seem to have memorized most of it, including the solos that I remember my friends singing. There’s nothing like hearing the thunderous voices filling the room, and standing and singing along with the Hallelujah chorus. An additional treat was seeing two of my former students, now adults nearing 30, as musicians in the orchestra. Both began playing instruments in elementary school and now work full-time as musicians and music teachers. When the bass soloist sang “Why do the nations so furiously rage together?” I wanted him to sing to everyone worldwide.

What’s a circus without children? We’d taken our three kids to the Big Apple Circus for many years as it’s my husband’s company’s holiday celebration for employees and their families. When the kids outgrew the circus, we stopped going. This year, we took our eldest grandson, 6, and his sister, 4. It was a day of firsts for them: first train ride, first subway ride, and first circus. Nothing like seeing the awe and magic through their eyes, though I admit some of the acts, while unique and artistic, had me figuratively reaching for the ibuprofen and being thankful I wasn’t the mother of the performers.

We close this week with a performance of Shakespeare’s Merry Wives of Windsor, written in 1602 and one of few of his plays set in Elizabethan England. I’m sure we’ll have fun following the antics of Sir John Falstaff and perhaps find wisdom in the words, “…come, gentlemen, I hope we shall drink down all unkindness…” (Act 1, sc. I, l. 98).

As for gifts, I’ve joined every organization I can find devoted to ending gun violence. I’ll sign petitions; I’ll march and where orange; I’ll give money. That’s what my grandchildren need and what I want.

ct-ct-faces-jpg-20151207

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in art, commentary, Family, Grandchildren, holidays, Museums, galleries, Music, New York City, parenting, Shakespeare, Theater and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Tidings

  1. I never knew you sang

    *Jacob Winkler, LSW, LMSW*

    *This e-mail is meant only for the use of the intended recipient. It may contain confidential information which is legally privileged or otherwise protected by law and must not be disclosed to others without consent. If you received this e-mail in error or from someone who was not authorized to send it to you, you are strictly prohibited from reviewing, using, disseminating, distributing, copying, or retaining this e-mail or any part of it. Please notify the sender immediately of the error by return e-mail and delete this message from your system. Thank you.*

    *Due to the electronic nature of e-mail, there is a risk that the information contained in this message has been modified. The sender cannot accept responsibility or liability as to the completeness or accuracy of the information.*

    Like

  2. hugmamma says:

    Sounds like you’re already into the season for merrymaking. Good for you. Best way to combat the Trump blues. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

