Cyber Monday: Charity Giving

It’s the season of shopping. Catalogues invade my mailbox daily. And it’s also the season of giving. Non-profit organizations try to capture our attention and donations, hoping to replenish their coffers to enable them to fulfill their missions.

I’ve been to a couple events – aka—fund-raisers in recent weeks.

My neighbor hosted a coffee for the Tahirih Justice Center, an organization devoted to immigrant women and children who arrive in the United States without any legal benefits and need protection against domestic violence and other horrendous customs like female genital mutilation and human trafficking.

Youth Communication, a New York City-based organization whose board I serve on, held a fundraiser at a private residence in Greenwich Village. Speakers included a current writer who is in foster care, a graduate of the program who shared how being a YC writer changed her life, and the program director from Joe Torre Safe at Home, a foundation serving victims of domestic violence. The representative described how her staff uses the YC story anthologies and curriculums. Some of these people, mostly paraprofessionals without college degrees, become so inspired by the training; they then pursue more education themselves.

Last, I attended the annual black tie Committee to Protect Journalists at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel. The event honors the true heroes of journalism—those reporters and photographers whose lives are on the line daily in their pursuit of telling the world the truth. Some pay the ultimate sacrifice, with their lives. Some are imprisoned, some injured. While the stories are horrific, the mission is noble and reinforces the importance of a free press. Over $2 million was raised.

Today is Cyber Giving Monday. Will you be supporting your favorite charities?

On another note, I want to share that I am no longer teaching. While I loved being back in the classroom and being with young adolescents, I found the time commitment too much given other interests and demands in my life. The school found a replacement and I assisted with the transition. I hope to continue as a volunteer, helping the 8th grade students with their high school application essays. Thank you for your interest and support of my teaching and please stay tuned for new projects underway.

 

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Education, interviews, New York City, teenagers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cyber Monday: Charity Giving

  1. Enjoy your time without the teaching. I’m sure you’ll be so busy with your myriad pursuits. I enjoyed this post because I can relate to the many tzedaka and charity parties and events we go to.
    The catalogues and constant ads for buying new things these days make me nervous. I know what I need and don’t enjoy being bombarded. It gives me a feeling of FOMO and then I have to suppress that….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drjcwash says:

    I am giving to some of my charities and paying all my membership dues. I always include a donation to the Foundation for each organization. The money is used for scholarships and education. I think it is great that you finally did it and now you know what an important contribution you can make without the daily ties of teaching in a classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tchistorygal says:

    You and I seem to follow similar paths. I spend much of my time volunteering. I love my volunteer work, though not as mission oriented as yours is, still service oriented. I feel needed without the pressure of it intruding on my life. I left the job as Executive Director of California Council for the Social Studies in the capable hands of a great friend of mine, and I feel free at last to retire and write, travel and live. God bless you for the wonderful work you do and the many contributions you make to society, Lisa. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 50 Things We’re Grateful For: Bloggers Unite! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

