Biking & Hiking in Zion & Bryce

We spent last week in southwestern Utah, cycling and hiking in Zion and Bryce National Parks. Being our first organized trip with a group and guides, I was a bit apprehensive. Our previous excursions have been self-guided, albeit organized by various tour companies, but we were on our own. This trip, organized by REI, ensured we avoided crowds—massive tour buses, unloading foreign tourists, mostly who walk to the top of the trail and take a photo, and return to the bus—and saw parts of the parks we might have missed. All but the last day, we hiked and biked each day.  The group, only 3 others, plus the two guides, turned out to be great fun; we were together for the activities,  meals and card playing at night.DSC00204 DSC00172 DSC00168 DSC00175

FullSizeRenderIMG_1866

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in bike riding, Cycling, environment, exercise, Family, Friendship, travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Biking & Hiking in Zion & Bryce

  1. jfrances40 says:

    So fun!! I would love to go back to that area again. I have heard that REI does very nice trips. So you would recommend them?

    Like

  2. Yes. It worked out well. All depends on the guide and group dynamics- we felt quite lucky. REI seemed very well organized, the pacing was good and activities well planned and rigorous enough for us. Great way to tour the parks as they have access that regular people don’t.

    Like

  3. You both look great. Brings back fond memories

    Like

  4. Colline says:

    Wow! You saw such stunning views.

    Like

  5. That’s such an amazing part of the country. Years back when my husband and I drove across country, as we drove through Utah (I-70), every curve of the highway brought new and different and very amazing rock formations. Wonderful photos!

    Like

  6. They look friendly enough Lisa. Glad you enjoyed your tour! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  7. Drjcwash says:

    Thanks for sharing. Beautiful area of the country.

    Like

  8. You guys are so inspiring! I love the adventurous trips you take, and then we get to read all about it here… Love it, Lisa! Hope I’ll see you again, in July, when I’m in NYC. xox

    Like

  9. susanissima says:

    Looks like crazy good fun! R and I have never been on an organized trip to anywhere, though we do meander a lot in the world. Looks like we should try it sometime. Love the exercise, the setting, the comraderie.

    Like

  10. Sounds wonderful. Excuse me, while I look up REI Tours. I knew they sold camping foods and hiking boots but didn’t know they led trips…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Hiking Havasupai | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

