New Jersey Pump Our Own Gas? Forget About It!

There are many wonderful things about living in New Jersey.

From where I live, I can get to the beach, the forests, or New York City in under an hour drive. I’m about 20 minutes to an international airport too.

The biking is among the state’s best kept secrets.

The tomatoes and corn are like none other anywhere. It’s the Garden State after all.

Ok, maybe it’s one of the most congested states in the Union, but probably one of the most diverse. Every type of ethnic food can be found, whether at a restaurant or a grocery.

It’s got its share of famous people born here like Frank Sinatra and Bruce Springsteen. Thomas Edison lived and invented here. And so on.

And one of the best things? You don’t have to pump your own gas. In fact, it’s illegal to hop out of your car and manhandle the pump. When the temperatures sink below freezing or rise above 90, it’s quite nice to stay in the car. And I don’t miss the gasoline smell left on my hands.

Now a few state legislators want to remove the 1949 Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, designed to protect consumers from petroleum mishaps. They claim allowing motorists to pump their own gas would enable station owners to offer lower prices and stay open 24 hours without worrying about finding employees to work overnight shifts.

Only Oregon prohibits self-serve pumping but is also considering lifting the ban.

Public opinion seems to prefer keeping the pumping to the pros.  I sure hope so!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Jersey Pump Our Own Gas? Forget About It!

  1. Wow Lisa, I didn’t know that full service still existed. I’ve been pumping my own gas for 20+ years! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m now self-conscious about it when I pull up to a pump in Oregon. It just doesn’t feel right to have someone else fill the tank.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m curious to know how this will all work out for you Garden Staters! Every once in awhile, I opt for “full service” so the guy can check my oil and other stuff. But most of the time I pump my own gas….here in LA. I could see, though, how in freezing cold temps, having someone pump your gas, can be a benefit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very Good.You should get a job working for the Chamber of Commerce in New Jersey.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Even with someone else pumping, I think NJ gas is cheaper than it is in CT and NY…

    Like

Leave a Reply

