Finished Projects: Winter Knitting

I’ve been knitting up a storm the past several months. I made matching sweaters for the 4 grandsons in royal blue, navy, and green and light blue.  DSC_0625The eldest grand-daughter got a jumper with a cabled top. DSC_0627

Of course, I couldn’t neglect our grand-dog, whose sweater came out too short so I’ll lengthen it so it’s not a “crop top.” It’s my first dog sweater and they’re a bit tricky to do.

IMG_2921 IMG_3089-1 I made a vest for my sister Madeline from Noro yarn someone had given her. A hitchhiker scarf for Prita, image a bobbles scarf and hat for Esti, OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA and a ruffled scarf for Claudia as a thank you present for attending my memoir writing workshop. photo-90 I hope it keeps her warm and inspires her writing!

Yet another local yarn store closed. The owners retired to Costa Rica and plan to offer knitting retreats. I will miss them. They could take a ready made sweater or a picture from a magazine and create a pattern. I did stock up during their sale and am now working on a cuff- to -cuff pullover for myself. Plenty of snow day projects!

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Knitting, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Finished Projects: Winter Knitting

  1. susanissima says:

    I’m impressed by your multiple talents, Lisa. The sweaters and other knitted items are gorgeous and the wearers will admire your artistry and feel your love with each wearing. ❤

    Like

  2. Thanks! I love it. This really is only a sampling- I didn’t have photos of some other scarves and shawls I made last year.

    Like

  3. jmgoyder says:

    You are very crafty haha!

    Like

  4. So fun to see all your projects and the lovely folks modeling them!

    Like

  5. jfrances40 says:

    Beautiful! And knitting retreats sound so fun, particularly in a warm place.

    Like

  6. Wow! such beautiful knits — I used to knit many, many years ago. got out of the habit — I love to paint more! 🙂

    Like

  7. You’re so talented Lisa! I especially like the jumper for your granddaughter and the hitch hiker’s scarf, I’d never heard of those before but it looks great! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  8. thanks! The hitchhiker was designed by a German woman and the pattern went viral– sells for about $5/3 euros– If I could only think of something that does that! But it’s very fun to knit. And I love making jumpers for the GD. Easier to do if no sleeves!

    Like

  9. madtaylor says:

    All beautiful – great post, you’re amazing

    Like

  10. Coming East says:

    You are multi-talented, Lisa! I’m impressed.

    Like

  11. Pingback: 50 Things We’re Grateful For: Bloggers Unite! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

