NY Botanical Gardens’ Holiday Train Show

I was ambivalent about attending the New York Botanical Gardens’ Holiday Train Show.  I figured it would be yet another way that the holiday season has become commercialized and though I admire model trains, they don’t captivate me too much. Call me Ebenezer.

So I accompanied my husband, because that’s what I do sometimes. He loves the Garden; we’ve had many pleasant outings there. (and have found a fantastic Italian restaurant to go afterwards.)

I had no idea what we were about to see; and am ashamed we’d missed this event since its inception in 1992! How our kids would have loved it. Now, we’ll try to get them there and take the grands.

The exhibit features the art and craftsmanship of Kentucky –based Paul Busse, who has replicated New York landmarks and many area historical sites, around the train tracks. Everything is made from plants!

Snaking around the orchids in the moist Garden conservatory, the trains go through tunnels and over bridges and around New York City and the outer boroughs. The attention to tiny detail is amazing and the entire exhibit a must see. It’s on through Jan. 19.

IMG_0668 IMG_0670 IMG_0672 IMG_0673 IMG_0674 IMG_0676 IMG_0677 IMG_0678 IMG_0679 IMG_0682 IMG_0680

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in art, environment, Family, holidays, Museums, galleries, Nature, New York City, Trees, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to NY Botanical Gardens’ Holiday Train Show

  1. This looks like fun! In Seattle we have a holiday train that snakes in and out of a little village, but I like the idea of a garden and a tiny village of realistic replicas better.

    Like

  2. Alas, my photos don’t do it justice.

    Like

  3. I tore an ad for the event out of an Amtrak magazine last week. Cliff loves old trains, so I hope to surprise him with a trip some day!

    Like

  4. This is amazing! Almost as good as the holiday windows… almost. 😉 Thanks for sharing it with us, Lisa.

    Like

  5. Yes, holiday windows give a different feeling but just as artistic. This was inside– so no cold rain to cloud our vision.

    Like

  6. Made entirely out of plants? Wow that’s amazing Lisa!
    Diana xo

    Like

  7. It’s great for any age. I (rather unwillingly) took my sister and her friend from England to see it a couple of years ago – they were entranced! And I enjoyed it too. 🙂

    Like

  8. joan turk says:

    Hi Lisa or shall I say Ebenezer, Loved your post.  I am going to the train show tomorrow.  Would you share the name and address of the restaurant you spoke about?

    Joan

    Like

  9. Loved the Architecture!. Can’t forget the train at the Maplewood ? zoo.

    Like

  10. hugmamma says:

    Makes me want to hop on a plane and head straight for the Big Apple…

    Like

  11. Come! I’ll meet you!

    Like

  12. Pingback: Holiday Tidings | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

