Remembering the Children

Anticipating a few days at our lake house with one son and his family, I’ll spend a good part of today scurrying around collecting items we need, shopping and cooking. I’m envisioning our activities together and smile.

I’m thinking also about other grandmothers.

I’m thinking too about grandfathers, and mothers and fathers, aunts and uncles, brothers and sister and cousins.

About those  girls kidnapped in Nigeria since April.

About the Syrian and Iraqi families displaced by civil unrest for whom home is a refugee camp. About Israelis and Palestinians divided by war, sending children to fight their neighbors.

About Michael Brown’s family in Ferguson, Missouri, and those of other gunshot victims.

I’m thinking about other peoples’ children around the nation and the world.

And I have no words.

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Family, Grandchildren, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Remembering the Children

  1. The world feels exceptionally heavy right now , doesn’t it? Trying to remain present and aware and grateful for all my blessings in the midst of such sadness. Enjoy your time with your family!

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    I am right along with you Lisa. All so very sad. We must appreciate our blessings and send love and prayers and hope to those suffering.

    Like

  3. Reflections says:

    Amen and may God help us all!

    Like

  4. Dear Lisa,
    It is very sad and discouraging. I know you will be hugging those children close and counting your blessings.

    Like

  5. Drjcwash says:

    Thank you. I was trying to right about this but my heart has been so heavy. Seeing all the anger and frustration around the world about the loss of so many children has been so upsetting. I had both my sons in the same room yesterday and I felt truly blessed.

    Like

  6. Beautifully expressed. My heartfelt understanding; I think of those events too and wonder about what ghoulish creatures are taking over people’s minds. There don’t seem to be answers.

    What a blessing for your children. I know you cherish them.

    Like

  7. THERE ARE NO WORDS

    Like

  8. susanissima says:

    Right there with you, Lisa. ❤

    Like

  9. No words could touch it Lisa. I wish you a wonderful time with your family!
    Diana xo

    Like

  10. Gwen Tuinman says:

    You’ve touched on something that a lot of people are feeling. Beautifully expressed Lisa.

    Like

  11. Jill says:

    lovely…hugs to kol hamishpacha

    Like

  12. The world is going crazy around us, and family, friendshipa and simple pleasures are so precious. Enjoy your family!

    Like

  13. hugmamma says:

    Sorry I’ve not visited for a while. Sounds like you’re enjoying family in spite of the whirlwind of sadness that swirls around in the world. hugs…

    Like

  14. The sad truth, isn’t it? Well done. Thinking the same over at Ram On. You may enjoy 7/26/14 post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

