New Health Studies: Coffee & Nuts = Long Life

Recent health studies indicate that drinking coffee helps small blood vessels work better and eating more nuts ensures a longer life.

The coffee one, conducted by a Japanese cardiologist, had non-coffee drinkers imbibe 5 ounces of  caffeinated coffee –  (a Starbucks “Tall” is 12 ounces) – one day and two days later the same amount of decafe.   The study concluded that caffeinated coffee increased vascular function better than decafe, but that blood pressure rises more with caffeinated.  Generally, it was deduced that more study is needed.  Unknown

In other words, if you drink coffee, like everything else, drink in moderation; if you don’t drink it—don’t worry.  Lack of coffee isn’t going to affect your heart one way or another.

Then there’s the latest news about nuts.  Unknown-1

They’re good for us.  They ward off cancer and heart disease and based on this study, they help us live longer.

While I don’t want to criticize scientific, medical studies, I do find these two studies a bit absurd.   If I’d read just the headline, I’d be convinced that coffee and nuts are the new elixirs of life. Not a tweeter, I know to read the entire article. There are caveats, and I’d add, these studies are a bit nutty.

But then again, I can’t argue too much. Coffee and nuts are perfect cycling companions, and there’s nothing unhealthy about crushed hazelnuts and expresso beans in ice cream or chocolate.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, food, health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Health Studies: Coffee & Nuts = Long Life

  1. The studies seem to be be piling up and the good evidence is not. I read Andrew Weils’ Books “Optimum Nutrition” and “Spontaneous Happiness.” The key is moderation. Nothing in excess and you get the positive benefit. A little red wine is good but too much has serious consequence.

    Like

  2. jmgoyder says:

    What about red wine? Haha!

    Like

  3. I drink 3-5 cups of coffee a day and eat a handful or two of nuts as well. I know that sounds like a lot of coffee but I make it pretty weak… 🙂

    Like

  4. Hmmm. I am in the minority and don’t like coffee… at all. Can’t even deal with coffee ice cream. That said, I drink a cup of tea a day. And yes, in truth, all things in moderation.

    Like

  5. So far, there’s more research in favour of coffee and nuts than against either one! Also dark chocolate and red wine! Plant-based foods without too much processing seems to help us to head in the right direction!

    Like

  6. If I ate all the things they tell us are good of us I would be in their other category: the obese.

    Like

  7. I love nuts, and have a cup of coffee maybe once a week. I tend to take these studies with a pinch of salt, but not too much salt, as they say it’s bad for me. 😀

    Like

  8. I always have a glass of red wine to dilute the fat content of my coffee and hazelnut ice cream! 🙂

    Like

  9. Nuts to these studies! Everything in moderation.

    Like

  10. hugmamma says:

    I can overdose on nuts…yet not. I recently learned that I’m “sensitive” to peanuts and almonds. So I don’t eat as many nuts as I use to, since those 2 were my favorites. As for coffee, for me it’s a treat. I’m more of a tea drinker. Make mine decaf since I tend towards insomnia…ever since menopause. So I really don’t need help staying awake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

