Grandmother Diary: Beware Coxsackie Virus!

I received this email from my son Nathan:

Unfortunately we found out this morning that Nakshone and Karen have coxsackie virus infection. It is highly contagious….. Watch out for a painful rash. If you do develop it please stop by and say hi! We will be having a family quarantine party for a whole week in our apartment as it is contagious for 7-10 days….

 What’s coxsackie virus infection? A quick consult with trusty Dr. Internet informed me it’s the medical term for Hand, Foot & Mouth Disease.

It’s a common virus that affects infants and kids under 5 years old. (and adults, too.)  Symptoms include a painful rash, fever, and sores in the mouth.  It’s contagious; and can be brewing for weeks before any signs of it appear. And there’s nothing to do but wait it out.

Oh no. My parents, sister and brother-in-law had been visiting them the day before.  And we’d seen them the week before, along with my other son and his family.

My daughter-in-law Karen is home from graduate school and work for the week and Uri, her two-year-old, while not showing any symptoms, has to stay home from nursery school. And the 3 –month- old baby, Nakshone, has sores in his mouth, making it painful to eat.

And I can’t visit them this week as planned.

So I called Jacob, who I usually see once a week.

Alas, both his kids have HFM too.

What’s a grandmother to do?

I asked Karen.  “Cooking would be good,” she said.

And so I am.  We’ll do a “Meals on Wheels” drop off later in the week, leaving the food at the door, and hope that by next week all will be healthy and HFM free.

Uri & Nakshone finding relief from Hand, Foot & Mouth

Uri & Nakshone finding relief from Hand, Foot & Mouth

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family, Grandchildren, health, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Grandmother Diary: Beware Coxsackie Virus!

  1. Nancy J says:

    As they say, oy! Chicken soup is most certainly in order.

    Feel better, Winklers!!!

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh! I have never heard of anyone having that (although I do remember from my childhood an episode of “Big Valley” in which the daughter caught H&M disease! I think you have come up with the perfect solution-Meals on Wheels, with the most important ingredient, of course, a grandmother’s love. Wishing everyone a swift recovery!

    Like

  3. Thank goodness for Skype…

    Like

  4. OmaOrBubby says:

    Refuah shelaimah (full recovery) to everyone who is affected by this annoying (but thankfully temporary) infection. Lucky for you that they enjoy your meals on wheels. I have to say that often my food is not soooo appreciated because I’m not such a great cook! I guess it takes all kinds. Anyway, this too shall pass. Soon they will be better!

    Like

  5. Colline says:

    I have never heard of this before. Is it something that happens often? Hope they all get better soon.

    Like

  6. Awww that’s horrible! I hope they feel better soon!

    Like

  7. I remember this, I hope the baby is still nursing OK? I would just go and visit, chances are you were exposed last week and either you’re immune or you’re going to get it anyway right? Good luck Lisa!!

    Like

  8. The good news is they will be fine. Adults are usually not affected and thankfully. You all should be fine except going through grandparents withdrawal syndrome from missing your visits. Delivering food will help.

    Like

  9. How sad; those poor babies were playing and being adorable, when attacked by a vicious virus. It isn’t fair…

    Like

  10. Oh my. Here’s hoping for quick recovery!

    Like

  11. ShimonZ says:

    Sorry to hear about this. I’ve been a little slow about blog reading for a while now… because of personal difficulties connected to the move from one home to another. I never heard of such a disease attacking humans. But here in Israel it was a common illness for livestock, and we often used to have quarantines to prevent the disease from spreading. Hope that the whole family is well again… even if it means less partying.

    Like

  12. Oh no! Hope they all get better quickly and get out of quarantine ASAP!

    Like

  13. Leah says:

    Hopefully you didn’t come down with it too! We’ve been fortunate that Sophie has never had it. I hear it’s not pleasant.

    Like

  14. Pingback: Can We Trust the FDA? | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

