Three Days, Three Books!

I love it when I can’t put a book down. I read three books that were like that.

First, The Golden Child by Abigail  Tarttelin.  6102zDhh8WL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_  Max Walker  was born a hermaphrodite and raised as a boy. His lawyer parents keep this knowledge from everyone, including Max’s younger brother. Something happens that throws off every appearance of normality, and brings into question the role and rights of parents to make decisions for their children.

Then, back- to -back without stopping, two of Jojo Moyes‘s romance novels.

The Last Letter from Your Lover  3e274b05f03de50a0d540621878f5ffa69865dc3c2f7ef4a3659bc05ee057268libro02 celebrates that old-fashioned way of communicating. Often while reading I wished the characters had  cell phones to contact each other!  Me Before You addresses the right to die debate.

I also saw Jobs, the movie about Apple founder Steve Jobs.  The story takes us up through the mid-1990’s. I wished it had gone further. Fascinating and well-acted. I borrowed Walter Isaacson’s biography from the library. It’s over 600 pages so I won’t be reading it as quickly.

So I need some suggestions! What books have you read that you couldn’t put down?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & TV, reviews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Three Days, Three Books!

  1. OmaOrBubby says:

    Wow – that’s impressive! All that reading…you’re on a roll!! Have a wonderful and blessed New Year! Shana Tova!

    Like

  2. OmaOrBubby says:

    I recently read “The Council of Dads” – great book, very touching and sweet. Non-fiction.

    Like

  3. Ok don’t judge me. It wasn’t even well written. But I couldn’t put it down. 50 Shades of Grey haha. Just to make it clear I am not even a little bit tempted to read the 2 books that follow though.

    Like

  4. Always love getting your book suggestions Lisa. Enjoyed Whistling Past The Graveyard; Deception was a page turner; Defending Jacob-wow; Beautiful Ruins was really fun and totally engrossing; and Light on the Ruins was ok. Wasn’t happy with character development, but the back story in WW2 Italy, was interesting. I have been working on the draft for my fall book post… but dragging my feet! Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

    Like

  5. Just started Raising My Rainbow and it’s hard to put down. It’s the real life story of a couple raising 2 boys, one of whom is gender non conforming. It deals with issues every parent faces, and several we are thankful that we don’t have to tackle. I am a reader of the author’s blog (of the same name), and am beyond thrilled for her success.

    Like

  6. L’shanah tovah! I so enjoy being so caught up in a book I can’t put it down. I will have to check these out. Have you read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides? I just finished it, and found it very compelling. It is also about a hermaphrodite–of Greek heritage growing up in Detroit about the same time I did.

    Like

  7. A book I found compelling was “Infidel,” by Kirsti Ali Ayaan: a Somalian woman’s escape from an arranged marriage after going through the horrors of female circumcision and the fears of living under Shariah law.

    Like

  8. Leah says:

    All of those looks great. How is Jobs?

    Like

  9. Alex Compton says:

    Everyone else is reading this too, but I loved “And the Mountains Echoed,” by Kahled Hosseini. And then I had to go back and re-read “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns” again. His character development is amazing and the stories are timeless…and tragic.

    Like

    • I read And the Mountains — liked it. Loved Kite Runner ( and wrote a study guide for Penguin for it) but the 2nd one- Splendid Suns I found too depressing.

      On Mon, Sep 9, 2013 at 2:41 PM, cyclingrandma

      Like

  10. I recently read Train in Winter by Angela Moorehead. Fascinating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

