Twister! There’s An App!

I dropped my daughter at the airport early today for a flight to San Francisco, where she hopes to secure both an apartment and a job in the next week. She has her heart set on moving there and envisions herself joining the start-up technology universe that draws young people to the area.

“There’s lots of jobs in games, her friend told her, referring not to traditional board and card games but to “apps,” the nickname for computer application software that once downloaded, usually to a smart phone, performs specific tasks. There are apps for everything from airlines to zoos.

I’m a latecomer to the app party; and use my phone, mostly as a phone and to check email. I’m not a texter and have only recently started using my phone’s camera. (One less item to stuff into my cycling jersey pocket.)

One of my daughter-in-laws sent me the link to a kosher foods app that tells what symbols or heckshers are acceptable.  When I’m in the grocery store, I can open my phone, find the app, and compare the symbol on a package to the icon on the screen. I appreciated her concern but told her that I’d most likely still find it a lot easier (and more fun) to simply call her and ask.

I was reminded about apps and games as I spread the newspaper (non-app, old-fashioned newsprint), coffee in hand, and read the obituary of   of Chuck Foley, 82, the co-creator of the game Twister.  51Cn7QS8aSL._SX342_

 Foley and colleague Neil Rabens developed the game that was introduced and manufactured by Milton Bradley in 1966.  Players stand around a polka-dotted vinyl map and follow instructions called out by another player who whirls the spinner. Right foot, green, Left hand yellow.  Right hand blue, left foot red. And so on. The aim is to remain standing as you become tied up in knots with the other players. It’s simple; it’s fun; it’s low-tech.

Or at least how I played it.  An Internet search brought up a several links for apps for Twister. It’s an App World, it seems. I wonder what new games will be invented.

 At our lake house in Pennsylvania, we play Scrabble, Monopoly, checkers, chess, and cards. We observe nature. Hawks and eagles, deer and bears, geese and ducks. We watch fishermen and admire their catches.   As yet,  there isn’t an app for that.

Do you have a favorite app?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Cycling, daughters, Education, Family, Grandchildren, History, Judaism, Nature, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Twister! There’s An App!

  1. I have gotten into the Pedometer App. I t tracks my route and gives me exact miles logged, This one is free for Windows Phone.

    Like

  2. You know I love Apps!! I am using the WordPress app right now, and I’ve started downloading podcasts! My fav is probably Hipstamatic – you’d like it for taking pictures!

    Like

  3. Patti Winker says:

    I knew I had ‘crossed over’ when I used the phrase; “I bet there’s an app for that!” – then excitedly searched for some white noise by which to sleep, and found many, many choices.

    Then I needed a flashlight – there’s an app for that.
    Then I needed a mirror – there’s an app for that.
    Then I needed a magnifying glass – there’s an app for that.
    Then I needed a calculator – there’s an app for that.
    And on and on and on…

    Have fun, Lisa, finding apps. It’s sort of like a new age explorer. 😀

    Like

  4. Leah says:

    Instagram is my favorite app. But I’m a traditionalist when it comes to games. I’ll take Monopoly as am board ame any day.

    Like

  5. OmaOrBubby says:

    I love this post – it’s very relevant to us grandmother-types who are pretty techno-savvy – but we actually knew what it was like to not have these things back in the day….
    I’m new to App’s. I was very stubborn and resisted getting an I-phone until very recently – everyone had one, but I stuck to my touch-screen Blackberry. (the “torch”) until my 3rd upgrade of the bberry died and then I surrendered. finally……Got an i-phone. I like the music app’s – the ones that have songs I can download for my listening, singing and therapy clients. I figure I”ll get into the app world gradually. In the meantime, I’m using my i-phone for regular stuff – text, emails, calendar etc…..I see the app’s available and I say, “whatever” – I’m afraid to get hooked more than I am already with all the technology.

    Like

    • Thanks! I also had to trade in the Blackberry for an iPhone– still getting used to it. I worry that if I start in with games, etc. I won’t read. I have Scrabble on my iPad and that’s addicting enough on train/plane trips.

      On Fri, Jul 12, 2013 at 9:58 PM, cyclingrandma

      Like

  6. I bet there are apps for almost everything – at least my daughter tells me so but I love real touch and feel board games – although I haven’t played one in forever!

    Like

  7. Ouch. I know it must have been hard to see L go! Hopefully things will fall into place, and how adventurous of her to go, without that certainty. I don’t really get apps either, but love that there isn’t one for what you have at the cabin. Lovely post!

    Like

    • She’s just there for through Monday, moving in August– she still has a few md appointments to go to, jury duty, and room cleaning– all her stuff from college.

      On Sat, Jul 13, 2013 at 2:56 AM, cyclingrandma

      Like

  8. I’m an early adopter — I’ve had an iphone for years, and apps are as someone else suggested, a great exploration!

    Awhile ago, I was meeting a man at a coffee shop for a meeting and while I was waiting, I was using my iPad. when he arrived he sat down, pulled out his iPad and said, Want to see my apps?

    I laughed.

    It’s the new pick-up line! Show me your apps and I’ll show you mine. (he actually wasn’t trying to pick me up, but it struck me as funny)

    And actually — you can tell a lot about a person by the apps they have on their devices.

    Like you and others, I’m a board game person — though I do love Euchre on my iPad and while I never thought it would happen, I enjoy reading books on it too!

    Like

    • Books on the iPad -yes- great for train/plane trips and I have Scrabble on it. On the phone– too small a screen. Hilarious about apps being a pick up line. Go for it!

      On Sat, Jul 13, 2013 at 9:28 AM, cyclingrandma

      Like

  9. My son attempted to convince me there was an app on my phone for a coaster yesterday when we met them for lunch. (Yes….I am a coaster/condensation freak!) Well who knows….maybe there is….but I didn’t buy it! 😉

    Like

  10. OmaOrBubby says:

    By the way, I remember the game Twister very very clearly!! We played it on Shabbat with our friends who came over! A great game!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Password Peril | cyclingrandma

  12. Pingback: Hello, May I Speak to…? | cyclingrandma

  13. Pingback: Playing Games with Kids: Let Them Win or Not? | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

