June Jumble: Visits!

I met my niece Sonia in NYC and we saw the whale exhibit  at the  American Museum of Natural History Museum.  Fascinating!

Hanging with President Ted

Hanging with President Ted

Cousins!

Cousins!

We toured Princeton the next day; it’s on her college list, and stopped in to see my son and his family.  0-9(more cousins!)

This week I took my niece Leah on a shoe-shopping mission to support her brother (and my nephew), Julien, who’s working in Lord &Taylor’s Women’s shoes this summer.0-3

Shoe Salesman Extraordinaire!

Shoe Salesman Extraordinaire!

I visited my parents in CT. I helped my mother set up her blog.  She doesn’t touch type, is a bit computer-phobic, but eager to become part of the blogging community. She might need encouragement to keep writing and I’m sure I’ll need to help with posting. (I know her password).  0-14

We strolled through The Kate, a performing arts center housed in a renovated former town hall in Old Saybrook, CT, honoring the town’s most famous resident. 0-120-130-15

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family, Museums, galleries, New York City, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to June Jumble: Visits!

  1. What a busy week. Sounds like fun.

    Like

  2. Very nice synopsis of events and great pictures!!

    Like

  3. Fun week! I always wondered what it would be like to a young guy and have to fit shoes on a mess of women.

    Like

  4. You do make an effort to keep your family connected, and I admire you for that!

    Like

  5. Coming East says:

    Love this, Lisa. Nothing better than to do things with and for family. I grew up visiting The museum of Natural History all the time with my dad. One of my favorites.

    Like

  6. tchistorygal says:

    You did some interesting things. I never could get my mom to even use a computer for emails. I never realized that she didn’t type before I set one up for her, and she just balked! Oh well. You mom sounds awesome! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

