It’s National Grilled Cheese Month!

What’s for lunch?

April is National Grilled Cheese Month.

Surely founded by the dairy industry, though no history emerged; it celebrates the simple act of placing a piece of cheese on something and sliding it under the broiler for a few minutes.

Not to be confused with National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day,    which is April 12th.

I made my favorite grilled cheese sandwiches today for my friend Marla and me.

Fig preserves spread on whole grain bread, topped with Spanish manchego cheese, broiled for a few minutes.

0-10-2

Divine!

I love cheese – grilled or not– in salads, on sandwiches, and just on its own.

What’s your favorite way to eat grilled cheese?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in celebrations, food, health, holidays, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s National Grilled Cheese Month!

  1. adinparadise says:

    Yummy. I love it on a croissant, or just grilled on a slice of brown toast. 🙂

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    Wow!! That sounds delicious and I will have to try it. I love grilled cheese and it is always my choice or default when traveling. I love grilled cheddar with avocado and sautéed onions and fresh summer tomatoes. Whole wheat bread is good or any good grainy bread. I recently got a panini maker and am still experimenting. Fun post Lisa!!

    Like

  3. Marla says:

    And it was yummy!

    Like

  4. mercyn620 says:

    English muffin, tuna fish, with cheese on top. Grill and enjoy!

    Like

  5. In my 20’s and 30’s my favourite lunch was grilled cheese sandwiches with tomatoe soup!

    Like

  6. Wow that is a great recipe. I love grill cheese. I ate it so much during Medical School. I taught my son to make it.

    Like

  7. Patti Winker says:

    Grilled cheese with the grandkids are my favorite. 😉
    We make quesadillas a lot, which is just grilled cheese using tortillas instead of bread.
    For nostalgia’s sake, I like a well buttered skillet, two pieces of bread, and Cheddar cheese, sliced on the diagonal, and served with ketchup with a dill pickle spear on the side.
    I do like to add a thin tomato slice and/or a piece of crispy bacon in my grilled cheese sometimes.
    My Mom often made broiled tomatoes with cheese on top; just a tomato cut in half, cheese on top, and put under the broiler for a minute or so.
    Oh, there’s so many ways to grill cheese… and coming from Wisconsin, finding ways to eat cheese is a way of life.
    I must say, I like your recipe. YUM!

    Like

  8. OmaOrBubby says:

    Of course! Grilled cheese. Yummy. Add tomato sauce and oregano to the top of the American cheese slice, stick into the toaster oven, turn on and voila. It is a pizza flavored grilled cheese! Cute post.

    Like

  9. Huffygirl says:

    Even though I can’t condone the overuse of cheese in the American diet, I would definitely eat a grilled cheese sandwich any day of the week if I could.

    Like

  10. Leah says:

    What a perfect month! I LOVE a good grilled cheese sandwich!

    Like

  11. I’m busy catching up on posts that I missed while on vacation… didn’t know it was Nat. Grilled Cheese month, but that’s exactly what I made for lunch! Yum. Buttered whole grain bread, with cheddar, cooked until just golden brown on both sides and melty. That said, your sandwich sounds fabulous!!

    Like

  12. tchistorygal says:

    I can’t wait till Friday. I love grilled cheese! I’m a dairyholic. There is nothing in the world better than grilled cheese and tomato soup. Talk about an overload. Top that off with some ice cream, and I’m in hog, make that cow-heaven! 🙂

    Like

  13. CurlsnSkirls says:

    Yummy – loooove cheese, grilled or not!

    Like

Leave a Reply

