What will future archeologists say about 2012?

 

As 2012 wanes to a close, it’s hard to find a lot of good news. Political fiscal and health care squabbling, violent attacks on women, gun massacres and continued warfare. 

Yet, in the midst of all this, I read an article that leaves me hopeful.

“While it is a painful truism that brutality and violence are at least as old as humanity, so, it seems is caring for the sick and disabled,” wrote James Gorman in the New York Times, Dec. 18. He was reporting about how archaeologists studying the bones and graves of prehistoric people show signs of caring for the incapacitated and  ill. “Call it the archaeology of health care,” he wrote.

Australian archaeologists, uncovering graves in northern Vietnam, found skeletal remains lined in a row. Then they found one whose bones were curled in the fetal position. Upon examination they found the man had been paralyzed from a congenital disease, unable to care for himself. They concluded that the community where he lived, that survived by hunting and fishing, took care of this man.

From there, the scientists infer more about the culture and how it cared for its people.

Other cases included mention a site in Iraq, dating to 45,000 years ago.

One wonders what archaeologists of the future will think of us in 2012.
Let’s hope that if they study 2013 they’ll find better news.

Let’s hope they find that people were well taken care of, worldwide.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What will future archeologists say about 2012?

  1. Reminds me of Mr. Rogers saying to look for the helpers. Good thoughts!

    Like

  2. Yes! Ditto Barbara… Lovely piece Lisa and all the best in 2013. I’m grateful to a strong blog community that takes care of each other. 🙂

    Like

  3. …and Tangerine Tango is a wonderful compilation of fine essays of talented bloggers. I enjoyed every page and highly recommend it to everyone.

    Like

  4. One of my favourite quotes is: “Although the world is full of suffering, it is also full of the overcoming of it.” -Helen Keller
    Like you, I hope 2013 is better and at the same time, I take responsibility for making that happen in my little corner of the world. Happy New Year Lisa and may 2013 be filled with joy, adventure and promise for you.
    xo
    Diana

    Like

  5. tchistorygal says:

    Wanted to stop by and wish you a Happy New Years, Lisa. Hope 2013 is your best ever!!! 🙂

    Like

  6. Barbara Klein says:

    The human being as a species encompasses good and evil. We hope we will evolve into a species where only the good prevails. A very happy 2013.

    Like

  7. Interesting thought. I never looked at how the future will see us, let us pray we leave a lasting legacy.

    Like

    • Yes, here’s hoping we become better stewards of the earth too.

      On Tue, Jan 1, 2013 at 10:19 PM, cyclingrandma

      Like

      • Amen – I am glad to hear one state (can’t remember which one) is planning on not allowing disposable plastic water bottles. That is a good start. Someone asked why I don’t recycle, well it is because I don’t use plastic (I do recycle when I have to), I use an old fashion glass or water bottle for my water! 😉

        Like

      • In Maryland they’re charging for all plastic bags. That said, I try to use the recyclable bags as much as I can but there are times plastic bags fit the bill! All small steps.

        On Wed, Jan 2, 2013 at 8:58 PM, cyclingrandma

        Like

      • I heard they do that in England. I like my recyclable bags too but like you said sometimes the plastic are just what we need. I basically reuse them as garbage bags until they come up with a biodegradable garbage bag. My mother is German and they always had cloth bags for their shopping – she always thought it was strange that they did not there here. She would be happy to see the trend now.

        Like

  8. My daughter is head of the Food Pantry in Larchmont, NY. She uses the plastic bags I recycle to her for holding the food she distributes to her “clients.” So I hope I am forgiven for asking for plastic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

