Embracing Emerald! Pantone’s 2013 Color!

Move over Tangerine Tango, not the bookTangerine_Tango-_Wom_Cover_for_Kindle.jpg

That’s alive and strong. The color steps from the limelight New Year’s Eve when Emerald takes over as the “it” color for 2013.

Pantone crowned Emerald,  the new must-have hue, bringing back a color not popular since the 1980’s, the company said.

Think Emerald City green. May (my) birthstone green, four-leaf clover green.  A bit lighter than spinach, more like steamed broccoli.

Green, like orange, is fine by me. I love it! Many of my clothes are green or orange.

From celebrities to cookware, the color is seeping into the public eye, hoping to convince us to toss all our so-last-year orangey outfits and omelet pans and spend greenbacks on anything and everything green.

ANGELINA-JOLIE q9401-69-fennel-demi-teapot-popup

Well, I’m not going to listen. I’m keeping my tangerine, pumpkin, carrot and cantaloupe- toned sweaters and shirts; I have quite a bit in apple, asparagus, olive and mint.

But Emerald?  Yarn store here I come.

CIMG2203CIMG2154 The grandsons are ahead of the times. They already have green sweaters.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in commentary, Fashion, Knitting, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Embracing Emerald! Pantone’s 2013 Color!

  1. Darling grandsons! I hate to have Tangerine Tango move over but the green is lovely!

    Like

  2. My great-aunt would be turning in her grave – she thought wearing green was unlucky, because it’s the colour of jealousy.. Emeralds, too, and she may have a point. I bought an inexpensive emerald ring in Colombia with 4 tiny emeralds in it. One fell out almost immediately….

    Like

  3. Barbara Klein says:

    Good-bye olives and lime, Green is green

    Like

  4. That shade may be hard to wear. I guess I would have to try it on. I really do like the Tangerine.

    Like

  5. April says:

    I’m so excited about this new color! I’ll finally be back in fashion! lol

    Like

  6. writecrites says:

    When I moved into my apartment, the walls were green. A soft green, but green nonetheless, it being a supposedly restful color (the walls are white now). However that emerald green dress is gorgeous, and I think it would look fabulous on me. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Dazzling Blue & Tangerine Tango | cyclingrandma

  8. Pingback: Pantone Green & A Giveaway | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

