Finished Projects: Uri’s Sweater & Marina’s Scarf

I finished the color block sweater for the second grandson, Uri, nearly 18 months.

It sort of matches what I made for the eldest grandson, Simon.  

Hopefully we’ll get photos of them modeling their hand-knits together soon.

I had some orangey odd balls in my yarn stash and knit this cowl scarf for Marina, book designer of Tangerine Tango

My friend Amy, who cycles and knits, hosts informal knitting gatherings on Monday afternoons. I went once so far and brought along an easy project, so I could talk and knit. Everyone else seemed to have very complicated patterns. I try to limit my works-in-progress to three– now two knitting and one needlepoint. The women inspired me to try something more challenging so I bought a pattern for an aran cardigan and gorgeous magenta wool,  breaking my 3 project rule. Oh well. I’ll probably  take a year at least to finish it.

What are your works-in-progress? How do you use your stash of leftover yarns?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Fashion, Grandchildren, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Finished Projects: Uri’s Sweater & Marina’s Scarf

  1. I don’t knit or do crafts really, but I love hand-made items!

    Like

  2. We can’t knit at all but genuinely admire those that do. Well done!

    Like

  3. I haven’t knitted in years and was never very good at anything but scarves but now I see that tube scarf, I am getting the urge. I saw a really nice tube I would have bought but it was $50 – Pretty sure I could knit it for less!
    Love the little sweaters too. Nice thing is when they are hand-made they can be passed on for a while and still remain darling.

    Like

  4. Lovely. I just do not have the patience. Maybe I’ll try again.

    Like

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    Nice sweater. I like the colors. I use up my stash by knitting mittens to donate to kids. Right now I am knitting mittens and socks. I take very easy projects to knitting groups. I cannot concentrate and talk 🙂

    Like

  6. Beautiful projects, Lisa! And now you have crochet-energized me…I used to crochet and do all kinds of needlework years (decades) (eons) ago…and put it all aside as life got in the way. When my grandson was born, I bought a bunch of new yarn and did a couple of blankets and sweaters…it was so much fun…but my eyes are not the best…and I use them so much for writing and computer work. However, you have inspired me…I will have to get out the hook and whip something up. Your Monday group sounds great!

    Like

    • Thanks! I can’t seem to figure out crochet. Get good glasses and work in strong light! Good luck! Post photos!

      Like

      • I learned to crochet when I was 4 or 5…my grandmother taught me using my finger…no hook. 🙂 I did eventually graduate to the hook…but I am left-handed and she was right-handed…somehow we managed to muddle through. 🙂 Your advice about the good glasses and strong light are right on…in good strong light, I can do lots of reading and close work…but I don’t usually have good strong light. 🙂 When I make something new, I will post the picks…if I can find some of the photos my daughter took of my grandson in the sweaters, I’ll send them along. 🙂

        Like

  7. hugmamma says:

    I’ve tried my hand at knitting and crocheting. Failed both. I’ll leave them to talented folks like you. Beautiful. Both! 🙂

    Like

  8. Barbara Klein says:

    You’rte amazing

    Like

Leave a Reply

