Finished Projects: A Toddler Pullover, A Summer Cardigan, & A Scarf

A hot, humid day with intermittent thundershowers provided a great excuse to finish some projects.

This is for my oldest grandson.  

It’s a roll raglan from Plymouth Encore Worsted,  75% acrylic/25% wool on size 5 & 7 needles. I did the body in the round so this was fast & easy. I still have to make a matching hat.

I subscribe to Berroco’s newsletter and liked the idea of a big needle project.  It’s Berroco Samos, on size 15 needles, knitting two yarns together. I used Berroco’s  Weekend in Willow paired with Berroco’s Versa in Olive Grove. It’s 50%  cotto50% acrylic. Light enough for summer, warm enough to ward off air-conditioning! It’s not uneven; I’ll probably use a shawl pin or chopstick to close it.

I wanted to knit a scarf as a present and was too lazy to go to a yarn store. I don’t usually buy yarn on-line, as I need the tactile experience of touching and smelling the yarn, and like to select colors. I emailed my friend Nancy Polster, (mother of one of my daughter’s tennis teammates and we always have our knitting at matches). She works at Ewes d’Bleu  in Ohio.  She called me and asked me what I was looking for and then put sent me photos of several patterns and yarns. Now I have a Yarn Personal Shopper! I selected this fabulous hand painted yarn called Summertime, made by Mountain Colors, based in Montana. It’s 80% superfine merino wool/20% nylon. I used the entire skein, knitting a drop loop stitch on 10 1/2 needles. It’s over 6 feet long. A perfect scarf to brighten up a winter day.  

I’m down to two projects- one knitting and one needlepoint and am looking  to crochet something  for either me or for my granddaughter. Suggestions?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family, Fashion, Grandchildren, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Finished Projects: A Toddler Pullover, A Summer Cardigan, & A Scarf

  1. Aren’t you the creative one!? Beautiful. I would like the toddlers sweater in my size please and thank you….

    Like

  2. Barbara Klein says:

    You put your old mother to shame!

    Like

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    I love your big needles project! Crochet ideas? A wrap or shawl?

    Like

  4. How beautiful. Great way to spend a hot day and other downtime. Look forward to seeing the finished crochet project.

    Like

  5. I’ve never been able to figure knitting out (though I like it), so I stick to crochet.

    Welcome to IWSG. I’m looking forward to your post next month. 🙂
    IWSG #178 (…until Alex culls the list again. :P)

    Like

  6. Gilly Gee says:

    Gorgeous cardy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

