A Gold Award, An 84th Birthday & A Petition

My niece Ruby, received her Gold Award this week. The highest award in Girl Scouts, she earned the required number of merit badges, logged countless community service hours, hiked and camped in all kinds of weather, sold boxes and boxes of Thin Mints, Tagalongs, and Samoas, and conceived and completed her final project, teaching cooking and nutrition to elementary children for eight weeks this school year.

For a busy teen—she’s a high school sophomore, a gymnast, field hockey goalie, track runner, and extreme outdoor sports enthusiast; this represents a major accomplishment that few scouts achieve.

Ruby comes from a long line of scouts. Her maternal grandfather (my father) was an Eagle Scout; her maternal grandmother, a Girl Scout. Her Uncle David (my brother) and cousin Nathan (my son) were also Eagle Scouts.

My parents attended the ceremony; my father bringing with him a dusty brocade trunk that held his Boy Scout paraphernalia, now 70 years old.

As a child, I remember seeing this trunk holding his sash with its many merit badges and awards, his certificates and other trinkets.  I’m quite sure I didn’t understand its  importance, brushing it off as sentimental nostalgia.

Born breech in 1928, my father was yanked by forceps, rendering his right arm useless. His disability made him the target of taunts from bullies- children and adults.   We haven’t heard many of these experiences. When asked, he clams up, brushing it off.

When he joined the Boy Scouts, he found a group of friends, many whom remained close as adults.  Only a few are still living.

As he donned the sash to attend Ruby’s ceremony, he looked at the badges, the colors faded, the stitches tiny around the edges.  He recalled how the troop leaders made him do feats that seem impossible.  To earn the lifesaving badge, he had to retrieve a rock thrown six feet underwater in a pond and swim to the surface, carrying the rock in his one hand.

Watching Ruby and her three peers receive the award, and seeing the entire troop, a diverse group of girls whose members include a girl with physical disabilities and one mentally disabled, dad marveled. The Boy Scouts he experienced weren’t as welcoming.

Sadly, it seems 70 years later, not much has changed.

Jennifer Tyrrell was a den leader for her 7-year-old son Cruz’s Cub Scout troop, beloved by the boys and parents alike. Then a representative from the Boy Scouts of America told Jennifer she had to resign. As a gay woman, this mother of four didn’t “meet the high standards of membership that the Boy Scouts of America seek.”

Ironically, the day after Ruby received her Gold Award, I received an email soliciting signatures on a petition initiated by Jennifer on Change.Org.  She writes: “During the year that I was den leader, my cubs performed volunteer service at a local soup kitchen, collected canned goods for area churches to distribute in food baskets, and worked on a conservation project for a state park. 

After I was asked to leave, other parents from my pack were outraged. Some of them even waited for hours to voice their concerns to Boy Scout officials, but they were turned away. As for Cruz, he doesn’t really understand why there’s a problem.”

 My dad will be 84 on Saturday.

How about signing Jennifer’s petition as a tribute to my dad and to congratulate Ruby?  I’d love Cruz and other boys to have the experiences my father, brother, and son had in Boy Scouts. And these troops need good leaders like Jennifer Tyrrell.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in celebrations, Education, Family, parenting, teaching, teenagers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Gold Award, An 84th Birthday & A Petition

  1. Nancy says:

    Lisa,
    Very moving blog entry. It was and is unusal, I believe, for Jews to be Scouts (at least for any length of time). I was suprised and pleased by the story of both your male and female relatives.
    I had previously signed the petition.I hope all those who read your piece do so as well.

    Like

  2. Congratulations to Ruby. She is an inspiration to all the teens out there. Your dad is an inspiration as well. I believe that anyone should have the equal opportunity to be the leader in the Boy scouts/girl scouts. Jennifer should be allowed to return as a leader. Her dedication is admirable. Thanks for sharing…

    Like

  3. SMB says:

    What a wonderful celebration of generations of scouts. Congratulations, Ruby! I have signed Jennifer’s petition.

    Like

  4. david burg says:

    What a nice blog post, Lisa. My own interest in the outdoors stems in part from the years my mom spent as a girl scout in New Haven, back in the 1930s. Her love of hiking and nature was passed on to me by example, especially during walks on the Sleeping Giant in Hamden. I have to ask her, but I think for her and other city kids like her who were children of immigrants (Jews, Italians, Poles, etc) the scouts provided an opportunity to mix with people of varied backgrounds and valuable exposure to nature. She still knows how to tie knots better than I ever will. The inclusion of the scouts then is in stark contrast to the current situation you describe.

    Like

  5. Wendy Lapham says:

    Lisa, I LOVE that picture and I was proud to sign the petition. Thanks for sharing both with me today–made my day. Wendy

    Like

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Congratulations to both Scouts 🙂 I will be signing the petition.

    Like

  7. sweetmother says:

    you know, i heard about this. but, your personal story REALLY brings it home. i’m going to tweet about it. it should be known. much love, mother

    Like

Leave a Reply

