Blog Birthday!

Today my blog turns 1 year!  

From my first post to now, it’s been a lot of fun.

I’ve written 126 posts, acquired 103 followers – and they’re not just family and friends I cajoled to join in the beginning-  accrued 697 comments, and more than 14,000 views. My post about my sons’ religious journey received the most views to date, 134.

What’s been surprising? I have “blog friends.”  A growing group of bloggers who I read regularly and try to comment on posts that resonate with me.  When I began, I had no idea about this wonderful aspect of writing a blog. Thanks to their generosity, I received two blog awards, here and here.

What’s next?

Like everything,  it’s about promotion. I’d love to double my followers; have comments that become discussions, have a post so incredible it rocks the blog world, become “Freshly Pressed”- WordPress’ Oscar accolade.

Or not.

I’m happy with my following, love the discipline I’ve managed to maintain of posting about twice a week, enjoy the feedback, and hope to expand, maybe  participate in more weekly photo challenges and creative prompts.

For my Blog Birthday present, I’m not asking for much. No cards, gifts or donations.

Please consider sending this message to a few friends:

Hi,

Check out my friend’s blog:  www.cyclingrandma.wordpress.com  You might like it!

Thanks!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in celebrations, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog Birthday!

  1. Kathy Jackson says:

    Congratulations! My speech lesson!
    Kathy

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday. Wow hard to believe it has been a year. I have loeved all the post. I do have a few favorite ones.

    Like

  3. zannyro says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m so glad that I am one of your followers! Are you having cake?

    Like

  4. Happy blog b-day! 🙂

    Like

  5. Congratulations. How time flies! Its an honor to know you through your blog. You’ve been an inspiration to all of us. I wish you all the best…

    Like

  6. Northern Narratives says:

    Congratulations 🙂

    Like

  7. Leah says:

    Happy Birthday to your blog! I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you over the last year and I look forward to all your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  8. Huffygirl says:

    Happy Blogaversary! Sounds like it’s been a great year for you. I agree heartily – The “blog friends” are the best.

    Like

  9. And with a year of this under your belt – you’re expanding your creative sphere again – terrific!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Blog Birthday! Happy Two Years! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

