The High Line in Spring & Doo Wop with The Debonairs

   

With members of the Debonairs on the roof of The Standard Hotel

I was last on the High Line in October. It’s great enjoying it as the seasons change.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in environment, New York City, Trees and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The High Line in Spring & Doo Wop with The Debonairs

  1. I have not been yet. Gave me an idea for the next outing.

    Like

  2. Patti Winker says:

    I can’t believe this! My Hubby and I were just talking about High Line Park. One of our favorite places! We visited in July 2010 and will be going back again this coming June. You are so right – it is incredible and a must see when in NYC. We went to Russ & Daughter’s deli and got the very best herring in cream sauce EVER and took it up there to eat. What a peaceful, pleasant, beautiful experience. It’s hard to explain all the different aspects. You just have to go there and feel it. Again… WOW! What a pleasant surprise to see your pictures. Maybe we’ll run into you there??? (p.s. I especially got a kick out of the seating riding the rails! I’m going to try to attach a picture here but have no idea if it will work.) http://remarkablewrinklies.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/DSC02899.jpg

    And Doo Wop with The Debonairs? Cool.

    Like

  3. Patti Winker says:

    The picture worked! Cool. Here’s another one I know you’ll enjoy: http://remarkablewrinklies.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/DSC02918.jpg
    We sat in there and watched the sea of yellow cabs come roaring toward us and disappear below us. It’s hard to describe until you actually sit there and see it happen. 😉

    Like

  4. Patti Winker says:

    Okay… one more and then I’ll quit. I especially love how they left the rails and other structural elements intact and designed around them: http://remarkablewrinklies.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/DSC02892.jpg

    I’m done now. It was just such a great experience, I just had to share. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Suzanne Nutt says:

    Share your love of the High Line…perhaps my favoriate space in NYC these days. It provides such a beautiful, poetic experience and such a novel and complex way to view the urban environment. Let’s go together some time!

    PS: Did you know that it has been recently been suggested as one of 12 new “wonders of the world”?

    Like

  6. I felt the joy and excitement that you guys had by simply looking at the wonderful photos. It’s May soon, beautiful Spring will soon be replaced by the sizzling Summer. I bet the next pictures will be just as awesome as this one…thanks….

    Like

    • Thanks for coming by! Yes, I think the High Line will look great in the summer too. Everyone walking there seems so relaxed and stress-free- a very different way to see the city. Hope you can see it sometime!

      Like

  7. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Is this the disused rail line that’s been made into a garden/park? It looks beautiful 🙂

    Like

    • yes– it’s the perfect place to walk and see the city.. I’ve been in all seasons and even in the rain.. a lovely “escape” from traffic.

      On Sat, Nov 17, 2012 at 2:16 PM, cyclingrandma

      Like

  8. jakesprinter says:

    Beautiful post Lisa,thanks for sharing your stunning photography.

    Like

  9. When I was in NYC, I visted the High Line (same time as you, may I add!). I think it’s great and something different to be able to see a part of the city from an elevated view.

    Like

  10. restlessjo says:

    What sort of length is it, Lisa? It’s part of a park? I believe there’s something similar in Paris, though much smaller.

    Like

  11. Pingback: SUNDAY POST: Peaceful | indigo

Leave a Reply

