The Good Apple Award: Receiving & Bestowing

I’m very picky about apples. I like them hard and crunchy, not sweet but not lemon sour. I can easily eat three or four a day when they’re in season, which in NJ is usually fall through winter. So when talesfromthemotherland   gave me the Good Apple Award, I envisioned myself as a red gala or empire.  I am grateful.

Here are the rules for the Good Apple Award:  

* Post the rules

* Answer the questions, the tagger posts for you.

* Create eleven new questions for the bloggers you tag.

*  Tag 10 new people with a link to your post

* Give them a heads up that you tagged them.

(To put the Award jpg on your page, right click and save it to your desktop)

Here are the questions I had to answer:

1.   If you could spend a day with one famous person (living or dead) in history, who would it be and why? I’d love to travel with Hillary Clinton and watch her negotiate.

2.  Ocean or mountains and why? Tough. Love both, but one day at the beach is  enough for me but I could easily spend a few days hiking mountains.

 3.  If you could pick any career, and be successful, what would it be? Children’s book author.

4.  What brought you to writing? My third grade teacher, Rosemary Lynch assigned story writing and I wrote “Pasey Taller.” My mother still has it.

 5.  Healthy eater or junk food? Mostly healthy.

6.  What’s the most romantic thing anyone’s ever done for you, and who was it? Oooo… memories. Playing it safe- my husband puts roses on my night table every week.

 7.  If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I’d love to be taller.  About 5’6” would be nice. Shopping as a child with my mother in Loehmans, she’d point to other shoppers and say why they could “carry” a particular style because they were tall.

8.  Drama or Comedy? Why? Drama. Not much for slapstick and love how dramas- good ones at least really give insights into human character. I’m thinking of playwrights Tennessee Williams, August Wilson, and Arthur Miller.

9.  Are you a dog person or cat person? Dogs. Cat hair, cat dander, cat claws, cat self-centeredness, cat food, cat litter. Dog remember is God spelled backwards.

10. Most exciting place you ever traveled to, and why it was so exciting.  Cycling in Ireland, 1984. We were on 10 speed bikes. We’d cycle all day then listen to Irish music in the pubs at night.  Exciting because it was our first bike trip and when I returned I learned I was pregnant with our first child.

11. Which question was the hardest to answer and why? The first. Too many choices!

Here are my  11 questions to the 10 lucky bloggers I’ve bestowed with The Good Apple Award:

  1.  Do you tan, freckle or burn?
  2. What’s your favorite mayonnaise?
  3. When was the last time you cried at a movie? (include title)
  4. When was the last time you cried while reading a book? (include title)
  5. What’s your favorite Dr. Suess story?
  6. Do you prefer dark meat or white meat? Why?
  7. Which do you do more: online or in person shopping?
  8.  If you could travel back in time to spend a day with anyone from history or your own life, who would that be and what would you do?
  9.  What do you sing in the shower?
  10.  What’s your writing pattern/schedule/secret vice?
  11.  Who was your favorite teacher and why?

And the winners are:

  1. leahsthoughts
  2. knitngreen
  3. gabicoatsworth
  4. huffygirl’s blog
  5. northern narratives
  6. friendfortheride
  7. cycling123
  8.  Classroom as Microcosm
  9. 3rdculturechildren
  10. thismansjourney

Check out their blogs! Thanks again, Tales from the Motherland!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Good Apple Award: Receiving & Bestowing

  1. nancy Polster says:

    Congrats on the award. Liked your answers and also questions. Hope to see you soon.

    Like

  2. Great answers and good choices for questions. I like the sites you selected.

    Like

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Congrats on your award. Thank you very much for listing my blog 🙂

    Like

  4. madeline taylor says:

    o.k., Even though I didn’t win any awards; I like the random questions. Here are my unsolicited answers:
    1. A bit of each. I used to only burn but now i tan and sport a wee bit of freckles on my arms and nose.
    2. Favorite mayonaise – I can barely tolerate the stuff at all let alone have i chosen a f a v o r i t e!
    3. I cried watching In Darkness – about three weeks ago. Before that: The Descendants – about a month or so ago.
    4. I think I cried while reading The Girl In The Green Sweater. I cried when i read the inscription to On The trail Of Ancestors – it’s to Mom and Dad! Of course I got choked up!
    5. The Sneetches
    6. I’ll eat either. Mainly because if I cook a whole bird, my family only eats the white meat so I feel beholden to not waste the dark (I really prefer white but take one for the team).
    7. Online or in person? Depends my time parameters, where I am, who I’m with…I can equally like or hate both depending if they go my way.
    8. I’d like to have Abie around. I want David and Ruby to meet him and I’d like to travel to his home town (Simiferopol?) with him both at the time when he was young and now.
    9. Writing. I’m not much of a wrtiter but I tinker with projects. My inspiration is often the cast-offs and/or words of others (more on this to come to your previous post). For lesson plans AND art projects I often start with a snippet I foundin a book…
    10. Favorite teachers – My A.P. English Teacher, Gaye Fialco – she was brilliant and energetic and made literature pop. Tim Weinland my mento and advisor during my first grad program – he believed in me and thought I would be a great teacher when I thought i was the biggest buffoon; and finally, Patrick Pope – a principal whom I worked with for 10 years who fine tuned what Tim started! There are also a myriad of teachers who were not MY teachers per se but colleagues who inspired me and taught me nevertheless (Sr. Maureen, Jane Anderson, Jayne Burns…)

    Like

  5. 3rdCultureChildren says:

    Thank you very much for your offer! I’m very grateful!
    Greetings from warm Recife, Brazil
    http://3rdculturechildren.com

    Like

  6. Leah says:

    Thank you so much for the award! I’m honored! And I loved reading more about you. Such great answers. I like the questions you posed too. I will answer them soon …

    Like

  7. Huffygirl says:

    Congratulations on being chosen for the Good Apple Lisa. So nice to learn so many interesting factoids about you. Especially that you’d like to be taller. I am 5’2′ and that is one thing I’ve never wished for – I can walk underneath so many things that other people are whacking their heads on.

    Thanks for the nomination. This may take me some time to put together.

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Lost Generation, Singing in the Shower, and Other Things You May Not Know About Leah « Leah's Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Blog Birthday! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

