Announcing: Website & New Blog!

When I named my blog, “cyclingrandma,” I received mixed reactions. Most of my family liked it, except my daughter.  Some friends had a hard time accepting the grandma part.  I felt it said a lot about who I am: a cyclist and a grandmother. My followers ( 111 to date)  know that I also read, write, cook, knit, do yoga, travel, and sometimes opine about national subjects  like women’s rights, justice, and current events.

With the publication of On the Trail of the Ancestors: A Black Cowboy’s Ride Across America, I was encouraged to establish a website that would serve as a “one stop” shopping to find out about me, the book, and other work I’ve done and can do. The website would include a blog and while I could maintain two blogs, I know realistically that I wouldn’t.

Here’s my website: lisakwinkler.com

All former posts from cyclingrandma have been transferred.  Not much will change.

I hope to still post about twice a week, about subjects from  cycling to yoga, art to theater, kids and grandkids. Maybe there will be more about the book, writing, and reading, with more links to articles about writers.

I am grateful to all those that followed my blog, liked posts, and wrote comments. Please sign up again! The best is yet to come!

Here’s a link to an article sent to me by my friend Robyn from Queensland, Australia: http://www.nybooks.com/blogs/nyrblog/2012/feb/28/writers-job/

 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

