Tangerine Tango: 2012’s Color– and Mine!

Post Halloween, I tend to stash my orange sweaters to the back of the drawer. Now,  Pantone, the Carlstadt, NJ- based design mavens declared 2012’s color of the year, Tangerine Tango.

Sounds more like a cocktail than a clothing color.

For the first time ever, I’m actually ahead of the new style. I love orange and have citrus-hued clothes by the crateful: sweaters, blouses, sleeveless tops, a dress or two, and accessories: earrings, bracelets, scarves, and tights.   Alas, no shoes!

From my Orange Collection

Take me shopping and I gravitate to the oranges. (and greens)

Frankly, I love the use of colors- whether on walls, in towels, or clothes. I’ve never been the basic beige sort, preferring to don bright shades all the time.  While browsing at a local boutique, I realized I needed new key chains.  Surely these whimsical, snappy shaded baubles wouldn’t get lost. I’d never misplace my keys again. I’d remember that I’m holding them in my left hand while searching for them at the bottom of my pocketbook.

The Israeli designer, Orna Lalo, espouses her artistic philosophy: “Color for me is a language that has a sound, a smell, a touch and taste.”

The tag on the key rings reads: “I always think about the person who will be using my design- I want my colorful creations to smile at you and make you feel good.”

My new key chains

Isn’t that what fashion is all about?

But will I find my keys any faster?

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tangerine Tango: 2012’s Color– and Mine!

  1. Love it! Would love you to check out our blog; we have a ‘My Bag’ feature where readers send in pics of their bags (this can be done via our Twitter) and today my mum shared her bag with us! Would love for you to stop by! http://www.carrythisbag.com

    Like

  2. Nancy Janow says:

    Lisa,

    For years, I have associated you with the color orange..Lisa = orange in my head. Glad to know my memory was accurate.

    Like

  3. It’s a shame they don’t make the lipstiock color ‘tangerine’ any more – then you’d be all set! (I think they made it in the 60’s…of course, I’m too young to remember that…)

    Like

  4. I love colorful jewelry too. In my clothes, I must admit is black and gray. I love colorful sweaters over black and brown. I have way too many black dresses. They do make a Tangerine lipstick. Bobbi Brown has one. Try it out. As I get older, I must admit I am embracing color.

    Like

  5. Knitn' Green says:

    I like the cocktail idea. After reading your blog for a while I just realized that your cycling shirt in the header is orange too! 😉

    Like

  6. Patti Winker says:

    Love the tangerine collection! You know what I figured out, after I got older? When someone says; “That color looks good on you,” wear that color. I am not the best judge of what color looks good on me, but it’s amazing that it’s usually a color I like. I am also drawn to rather bold (not primary) colors like orange, and that goofy green we see all over now, and a Caribbean blue, but not soft blue. I’ve been told I can wear olive green and dark yellow. I tried doing one of those ‘learn your colors’ things once and was a complete and utter failure. I could NOT for the life of me answer simple questions about which color looked good when I put it by my face. So, that’s why I just go with whatever people tell me and what colors make me happy. And orange makes me happy, too! Thanks, Lisa. This was fun!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Announcing: Tangerine Tango: Women Writers Share Slices of Life | cyclingrandma

  8. Pingback: Embracing Emerald! Pantone’s 2013 Color! | cyclingrandma

  9. Pingback: Dazzling Blue & Tangerine Tango | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

