Basking in Batter Bliss

My baking barrage began before Thanksgiving and hasn’t really stopped.

Banana cake batter with chocolate chips-  a favorite of my daughter so I made it a few times the month she was home from college on winter break.  Decadent chocolate cookies with kahlua and passion fruit mousse for New Year’s Eve.

And just this weekend, an apple cake and  six spice oatmeal cookies.

I’m pretty good about having one portion of dessert. I don’t eat an  entire cake or the complete contents of the cookie jar. I avoid bread and limit my carb intake, especially when I’m not biking as much.

What’s unavoidable is the batter. I could make a meal of it.

As a kid, I would alternate with my sister about who got the bowl and who got the wooden spoon after making brownies.  We called ourselves “batter buddies.” This is the same sister who requested raw brownie batter brought to her when my mother and I visited her in college. (We took a half pint container on the airplane.)

With no one home, I’m baking alone. There’s always that last bit left in the bowl  or on the spatula. Too good to waste.  I bask in its bliss and bulge in blubber.

It’s easy to make excuses for consuming extra calories.  It doesn’t count if it’s homemade. It doesn’t count if you’re on vacation. Or it’s your birthday.  Or you’re just evening off the edges.  Or it’s just crumbs. Or you’re depressed. Or you’re elated.

Or it’s the batter.

Trouble is, these all count!

Six- Spice Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

1 ½ cups flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. cumin
pinch of cloves
pinch of cayenne pepper
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter or margarine, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp. vanilla
3 cups old- fashioned or quick-cooking rolled oats
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 375° F.

Sift flour, spices, baking soda and salt into a bowl. Using electric mixer, beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy; beat in egg and vanilla. Add flour mixture and slowly beat until combined well. Stir in oats and raisins. Dough will be stiff.

Drop by level tablespoons about 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets, bake in middle of the oven until golden, about 8-10 minutes. Cool. Makes about 60 cookies.

Note: I cut the sugar to about ¾ cup for each one.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family, food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Basking in Batter Bliss

  1. Nathan says:

    I am loving the banana cake! Thanks again!

    Like

  2. I have the same problem. I used to bake so much. I found it relaxing. My guys do not indulge in sweets. I would take it into the office. So now I make an occasional pecan pie or brownies. My dear friend always gives us a batch of cookies. She bakes for 1 month and freezes batches and distributes them to her friends. I love it. I keep them frozen. I have been noticing that since I am not stressed by my working 7 days a week, I am eating less and more conscious of my calorie intake.

    Like

  3. Madeline Taylor says:

    As you know, I am also a baking and batter junkie. But I believe ’twas I who transported brownie batter to Oberlin! Ask ma – she’ll remember the exact amount, who delivered and in which jar – she may even still have the jar

    Like

  4. nancy Polster says:

    I can relate with the love for batter. My favorite is chocolate chip cookie dough. My sister and I would make a double batch of the recipe. Half was made into cookies and the other half we ate as batter. We always had a stomach ache but that never stopped us/ If you get a chance, I would love the recipe for the mousse you mentioned in the blog. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

    Like

  5. Leah says:

    These look delicious! My dad loves oatmeal raisin cookies. Will have to whip up a batch for him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

