Thank You Note Thanks

Returning from New Year’s weekend, having not collected the mail for two days,  I hit the jackpot. Not with gifts, coupons, sale catalogs, or even holiday cards.  Four personal thank you notes greeted me.  My mother always insisted we write thank you notes and I’ve tried to instill that in my children.  My friend Robin and I jokingly judge someone’s character based on whether or not he/she writes thank you notes.

An email or phone call take second place for sure. To me, there’s still nothing like a personal note – and not those “fill-in-the-blank” ones. With the demise of the postal service, who knows what will happen to personal, hand-written letters.

I received  one from our grandson Simon, 2, for his easel, one each from my brother’s daughters, and one from my sister-in-law.

ThThis one was  from my sister-in-law, Dana, thanking us for being invited to Latke Lunch on 12/25. (card from Trader Joe’s.)

A 2012 wish: Here’s hoping hand-written notes aren’t a lost art and that the postal service survives!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in celebrations, Family, parenting, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thank You Note Thanks

  1. I agree. I always try to add a personal touch to cards. These are lovely. Welcome back.

    Like

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    I wish more people would write thank you notes. This is a great post 🙂

    Like

  3. So many things mean more when they’re written down – thank you’s, love notes, compliments…

    Like

  4. Leah says:

    Very sweet. My parents always instilled that in us too. I still write notes and Sophie and I wrote many thank you notes for her birthday gifts. It’s important to teach at a young age.

    Like

  5. First, I need to tell you that I fell in love with your blog probably because that’s what my mum would’ve loved to blog as a baalei teshuva’s mother like you.
    Second, Thank You notes are very important and I am so happy I have many dear friends who remember to make notes and cheer each other up.

    So, thank you! Shavua tov! 🙂

    Like

  6. so says:

    Nice reminder – so thank you!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Dimes Don’t Make me Donate! | cyclingrandma

  8. Pingback: Finding the Right Birthday Book | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

