Yoga at 93! My New Hero!

Cobra, Camel, Cow, Cat, Dog. Lizard, Eagle, Crow, Pigeon.
No, I’m not at an animal menagerie. (Downward facing dog: yoga.about.com)

Boat, wheel, mermaid, dolphin.
No, I’m not a sea world show.

Sun salutations, warrior poses- both forceful and peaceful; headstands, shoulder stands, arm balances.

I’m at yoga class.  And when the instructor, Laurie, mentioned that the guru leading a recent workshop she attended was 93, I nearly fell over. I couldn’t think of anything else the remaining 60 minutes.

If yoga is the secret elixir to long life, count me in.  This 93-year-old is my new hero, replacing the 70-something teacher, Iris, who teaches at my local YMCA.

I discovered yoga more than 25 years ago. I had just moved to a suburb of London with my husband who was relocated as a journalist. Newly married, I free-lanced for several publications.

My friend Gay invited me to yoga with her.  I’d never heard of it. The local adult school offered classes during the day and in the evenings, and Gay went three times a week. At the equivalent of about 75 cents for two -hour classes, this was a great bargain.  I became hooked.

Returning to the US in 1987, I looked for yoga – only one studio near my home in New Jersey, about a 20 -minute drive away.  Jump ahead about 15 years, and yoga proliferated like earthworms after rain- studios on every corner, in every town, offering all sorts of styles: hot, restorative, gentle, energetic flow, and so on.

I’m nomadic in my practice.  If I can’t be outside, I’ll look for a class that fits into my schedule. I’ve learned not to become too attached to any particular instructor- there’s high turnover—and yoga is about letting go.

I find yoga helps my core strength, which in turn, makes me a stronger cyclist.  I did yoga through three pregnancies and through labor as long as allowed. It has been the only cure for backache, and somewhat of a relief for hot flashes.  I find I’m supple enough to sit on the floor with my nearly 2- year –old grandson and play. It’s amazing watching how easy it is for him to plop down, touch his toes, and move.   with Simon

Eating Uri 

Yoga at 93? I sure hope so.

September is National Yoga Month. Try it!

Nameste!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Cycling, exercise, health, sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yoga at 93! My New Hero!

  1. notquiteold says:

    I’ve been practicing for nearly ten years, and I’m still a beginner. But if I am a beginner for ten more years, it’s all right with me. I love yoga.

    Like

  2. Sara Grambusch says:

    Somehow the elderly are amazing at yoga. Maybe their minds are more capable or something 🙂

    Like

  3. Yoga for me has been life changing. I now relook at how I deal with stress and life. I run and work out on the elliptical. Before yoga, I found out this caused me to really be less flexible. Yoga helped me regain my felexibility. I am using yoga to rehab a shoulder injury and it is very exciting. This has led me to meditation. As a physician, I use to send all my patients to try yoga as a way to relive stress. I just finished Deepak Chopra’s “Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga.” It points out the how as we age yoga can be beneficial to us.

    Like

  4. Leah says:

    I love yoga and really need to do it more. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Aiieeeeehhhhh! | Huffygirl's Blog

  6. Knitn' Green says:

    I need to get on the ball and get myself to a class. The doctors have recommended yoga, the bits I’ve tried on DVD have been wonderful. Gee, What am I waiting for?

    Like

  7. Pingback: Summer in NYC: Theater & Yoga | cyclingrandma

  8. Pingback: Charity Solicitations: Zap My Zen! | cyclingrandma

  9. Pingback: “Breathing out the Upsetness” | cyclingrandma

  10. Pingback: 50 Things We’re Grateful For: Bloggers Unite! | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

