End of Summer Photos

Left to right:

A foggy Labor Day morning at the PA  lake; too dreary to hang around.
J & S at a local swimming hole in NJ.
Grilled  Zuchinni, Squash and Peppers topped with fresh herbs.
Us resting in Lackawaxen, PA.
We met Robert & Gunther outside Peters Valley , NJ.  They’re  riding and camping  from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Florida.
Black bears- I saw two- one while biking, one crossing our driveway!
(photo: gotpetsonline.com) I was too flummoxed to find my camera.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in bike riding, Cycling, Family, food, holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to End of Summer Photos

  1. Judy Washington says:

    It sounds like a wonderful weekend. The bear sightings send chills through me. I chose to just spend time with myself and my family. Talked to friends and goofed off. I did manage to get in two long workouts and yoga at home by continuing my practice. I had lunch with a friend in Montclair on Sunday. What a gorgeous day it was. I did try to avoid the news but it kept coming. SO we watched a great old Fred MacMurray and Polly Bergen movie ” Kisses for The President.” Polly was the first female President elected overwhelmingly by the women of the US. Unfortunately she left office due to pregnancy. It is a must-see

    Like

  2. Naomi says:

    I like the one of Shimon the best!

    Like

  3. Leah says:

    Great photos, especially the bear one! Not a photo you see everyday (at least not here in San Diego). It’s great you cycle. My husband cycled nearly every day several years ago (before child). He used to love it too.

    Like

    • I wish I could have taken the bear photo– too excited to find my camera. We hadn’t seen any bears for a while and then 2 in one weekend. We are addicted to the biking- it has changed our lives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

