A Sad Post: A Young Death

My mother’s voice mail message was ominous. “Call me back as soon as you can.”

Immediately I got nervous.  “Mom, when you call don’t sound like it’s an emergency.”

“Well there is some sad news. Abigail was killed in a water skiing accident.”

This is the news  no one wants to hear.   Abigail, 24, is my cousin Jean’s daughter.  She’d been living and working in Austin, Texas.

I’m not sure how the accident occurred. I know she was declared brain dead and her organs were donated. The funeral is Friday.

We’re always a second away from an accident. No matter how safe we try to be. We think we’re invincible.

Death of a young person is a tragedy. Our family has experienced longevity, grandparents lasting well into their late 80’s and 90’s.  This is a shock.

What is there to say? She died having fun. She loved life. She’d want everyone to continue doing the same.

My son Jacob put it well: May you and all of the rest of the family be consoled.

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Sad Post: A Young Death

  1. deanne says:

    Shock is really the only word for it. My heart goes out to you and yours. But yes, as we both know, we don’t know if we have tonight, much less tomorrow.

    Like

  2. Lisa Ye says:

    Hi, Lisa, I am sooooo sorry to hear about this sad news… What a loss for a family and for the society !! As a mother, we all know how hard it is to raise a chills from a baby to teens to grow ups.. and whatever Abigail was studing or doing, she could be another future Morher Teresa for the world …very very sorry… Please pass my deep sympathy to your cousin’s familly..

    Like

    • Thanks, Lisa. We’re all in shock. There’s nothing to say. There lives will never be the same. She was a gorgeous young lady, talented and doing good things for others in Texas.

      Like

  3. Leah says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of the news. Death – especially unexpected death – is never easy. and I think a young person’s death is even worse. My thoughts are with you!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Gun Control: Now! | cyclingrandma

  5. Pingback: Fasting & Tisha B’Av | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

