Cops & Robbers, Twizzlers & Ping Pong

Throw a few kids together, take away all the electronics, what do you get? Imaginative play! Like books made of paper, the art of invention hasn’t disappeared.

I was a bit worried when I invited two friends to our lake house with their kids- two 15 year olds and a ten year old. The children have known each other for about 6 years and get together a few weeks every summer.  I warned the parents: there’s no television, spotty cell-phone service, no computer games.  If it’s nice, there’s plenty to do outside; if it rains, there are board games, cards, and books.

They took to the lake like a gaggle of geese, racing around in kayaks, jumping off the floating raft, and swimming.  Watching from afar, we adults realized their paddling around wasn’t merely random. Over lunch, we heard how an outcropping of rocks and shrubs, dubbed “Goose Crap Island” years ago by my kids, had become the “jail.” They were taking turns being cops, chasing one robber, and putting the culprit behind bars.  We heard how two boats capsized and how the children rescued the flip-flops, oars, and boats from sinking or floating away.

.  “Cops” Tanner & Savannah preparing to chase “Robber” Traye

Later in the day, it rained. Inside, the children played cards, using “Twizzlers” for implements and of course, the winner got to eat the prize.  They rewrote the rules for Scrabble, defending their words, and refined the scoring in Ping Pong.

Watching the children play reminded me of my own kids who invented games, created kingdoms, and kept them occupied in the 17 years we’ve had the house. I thought of the play I wrote when I was a child, “The Purple Scarf.” I directed the neighborhood children and of course starred in the leading role, the princess.  I remember pretending to be a secret agent from the television spy show, “The Man from Uncle,” creeping around the woods with other friends, inventing scenarios, combating evil.

Unlike every other mother who seemed to have their children’s toys organized by brand, I was never good at getting my kids to tidy up their toys into separate bins. Our legos and Lincoln logs, tinker toys and trains, superheroes and dolls co-existed in large laundry baskets, ever ready for roles in sprawling battles and construction projects.

Imagination isn’t dead. Give kids the freedom to negotiate and cooperate, unplug the electronics.  See what happens.

And a great summer day by water doesn’t hurt! 

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Family, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cops & Robbers, Twizzlers & Ping Pong

  1. Sharon Gill says:

    Great write-up, and I should know, I was there! But it’s true, there is nothing better than imagination and I’m glad my son is in touch with his, in spite of (or should I say, in addition to) his enjoyment of video and computer games (which are fantasy to a great extent, wouldn’t you agree?) Never a micro-manager of my kids’ lives, they were often left to their own devices, having to fill “empty” hours with exploration, creation and recreation – old school style – and as a result, I have rarely heard “I’m bored.”

    Like

  2. Leah says:

    What a great day! Imagination has become forgotten with TV and video games. There is so much that can be done without electronics, which is why I try to make sure Sophie and I always do something like crafts, reading, etc. Not saying there’s no place for TV. But I also firmly believe in keeping imagination a well-used tool.

    Like

  3. hugmamma says:

    Love this post! Good to know other families still wallow in imagining. My 25-year-old daughter remembers growing up playing make-believe with her dolls and stuffed animals. Our family has never really been into video games, and the like. In fact, my husband and daughter loved to while away the hours with her leggos. We’d even pitch her small tent in out small living room. And we always did crafts because I often sold them at fairs.

    solid memories of a good life… that still is… 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Libraries & Lemonade: Keeping Kids Busy in the Summer | cyclingrandma

Leave a Reply

