Mallomars in June? It’s “S’mores Time!”

What are the signs of summer?

Not record breaking temperatures, which we’re experiencing, causing the whir of air conditioners to muffle any reminder that this should still be spring and the windows should be open.

Not warnings that hurricane season is upon us.

Not the wearing of flip-flops, barring of shoulders and legs, donning of sunhats and sunscreen.

Not seeing white shoes after Memorial Day. Not that my lipstick melts in the oven-like car.

No, the sign of summer is the absence of Mallomars. So when I saw two lone boxes on the shelf in the supermarket, I couldn’t resist buying one. I’m just not ready to concede that it’s already summer and that spring was a mere few days.    

Sort of a fall-winter “s’more,” Mallomars, Nabisco’s chocolate covered marshmallow on a graham cookie base, have a season.

First introduced in 1913, they appear in stores in October and are usually off by April.  Forget that other chocolate items are found worldwide in climates that endure scorching heat year round. For some reason, these confections, offering 120 calories of pure delight can’t withstand high temperatures. Or perhaps it’s a marketing technique and we consumers just love seeing towers of the bright yellow 18-cookie boxes competing with Halloween candy.

According to the box, Mallomars were first sold to a grocer in West Hoboken, NJ. And more than 70% of sales are generated in the New York-New Jersey area.

Now produced in Canada by Kraft, the cookies have made an appearance in many television shows, novels, and movies. “Roseanne,” “Seinfeld,” “The Simpsons,” “The Sopranos,” and “Family Guy” among them.

Here’s my favorite:

In “When Harry Met Sally… (1989)” Harry watches TV on New Year’s Eve with a box of Mallomars, referring to them as “the greatest cookie of all time”.

And if these June Mallomars are stale at least I can anticipate a summer of “S’mores.”

Credited to Girl Scouts, these sticky, gooey traditional campfire treats date to the 1920’s.  Named after some child demanded, “gimme me some more,” they are best made over an open fire.

Toast a marshmallow until it’s soft. Put on top of a square of milk chocolate that is sandwiched between two layers of graham cracker. Squish it together so it all melts together.

There’s even a National S’mores Day, August 10th.  

Now that’s a holiday to celebrate!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in food, holidays, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mallomars in June? It’s “S’mores Time!”

  1. Madeline Taylor says:

    Whenever I think of S’mores -( which are a staple in my house as we grill all year round so why wouldn’t we make S’mores all year round) i am not reminded of my childhood days of camping and roasting round the campfire but rather of the time in my adulthood when I first met my soon-to-be new niece (through marriage), Kate. Kate was 9 and she was impressing me with the-one-item she was allowed to cook: S’mores in the microwave. They don’t carry quite the same sinful delight as the toasted variety – but they’ll suffice in a pinch and who was I to dash the dreams of an aspiring young chef? Well, this happened to be the first time I also met my soon-to-be sister-in-law, Kathy. After downing about a dozen S’mores each, we were stopped mid swallow by a somewhat loud (for Kathy) very stern almost shriek of horror: “Madeline, What are you doing? We’re having dinner in 10 minutes, She’ll spoil her dinner!”
    I was mortified. Way to make a first impression! I apologized profusely with-out-end for the entire rest of the evening. Luckily, Kathy was immediately forgiving and did not fail to mention that I ultimately DID made the best first impression by being the perfect aunt!
    Kate is now the age I was then. She is a lawyer in D.C. and works insane round-the-clock hours. She barely has time to eat let alone cook. But when she does, I hope she treats herself to her own tried and true recipe: “Layer a graham cracker square with chocolate, top with a marshmallow and microwave for a second, top with a second graham cracker square and eat. Be careful not to burn yourself!”
    By the way, that night at Kathy’s, Kate managed to eat all of her dinner and dessert (as did I – of course)!

    Like

  2. Ok, we tried them. Dry and falling apart. Must have been hiding in the back of the shelf after they cleaned out all the others. Did manage to scarf down a few with a glass of milk, hey didn’t want to throw out the entire box. But will wait for the 2011 batch in October. Lesson learned: Seasonal means seasonal. Don’t mess with it.

    Like

  3. deanne says:

    now THAT’S funny!

    Like

  4. fgassette says:

    I enjoyed your post. WELCOME! Thank you for subscribing to follow my blog. I hope you are encouraged, inspired and enjoy the photos I post.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  5. I think s’mores are even better with Cinnamon Graham crackers and dark chocolate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

