Cycling Post-Ride Lunch: Soup ‘n Cake

Cycling Sunday: Post-Ride Lunch

Hungarian Fish Soup

Our friend Attila   is Hungarian and one of his friends posted a recipe on Facebook for Hungarian Fish Soup. I’ve made several fish soups and chowders, and usually puree everything together. This recipe leaves the veggies and fish in chunks.

We’re leading a ride on Sunday and I made this soup for the hungry cyclists, Attila included. The key is the paprika, which are really dried peppers grounded into spice. I had a range on hand of mild to spicy. I’ll serve hot pepper sauce with this for those that want an extra kick.

Hungary is land-locked so all fish is fresh water. I bought trout from Reggie, my  fishmonger at Freeman’s Fish Market in Maplewood. He skinned and filleted the fish. He suggested adding a few flounder fillets for variety of flavor. The Hungarian recipes call for carp, which isn’t available here.  

I bought about 4 pounds of fish.  In the food processor, I chopped 3 onions, 3 cloves of garlic, a hot jalapeno pepper, 4 carrots, about 6 small white potatoes, 2 green peppers, and a red and yellow pepper. I covered all with water and simmered, then added a can of crushed tomatoes, chopped parsley and coriander, a pint of fish stock, salt and piles of paprika- about 3 tablespoons of the regular mild stuff and 2 tablespoons of the hot.  

Then I cut the fish into inch-sized pieces and added to the broth.  Taste as you go, add more spice or salt as needed.  

I’m a bit worried all this red soup will spill on our white cycling jerseys. I’ll be sure to have plenty of napkins!

I plan to serve this with bread, salad, and of course, the post- ride prerequisite—beer!

From the pot, it tastes great!

Cuisinart Carrot Cake

For dessert I made a carrot cake that has become a family favorite.  It’s from the little cookbook that came with my first cuisinart (about 25 years ago!)

My mother doesn’t like oil cakes so she substitutes a combination of butter and margarine.  I follow the recipe; just cut the sugar about ½ a cup.

2 cups flour ( I used ¼ cup whole wheat flour)

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

¼ tsp. nutmeg

1 TB cinnamon

7 pitted prunes (or a bit more)

¾ cup walnuts or pecans

5 medium size carrots

4 large eggs

2 cups sugar

1 ½ cups vegetable oil (canola is fine)

¾ cup raisins

1 tsp. vanilla

confectioner’s sugar

Preheat oven to 325F, put rack in middle of oven.

Grease & flour a 10-12 cup pan (I use a bundt.)

Using metal blade, process flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices a few seconds.

Transfer to another bowl, leaving about a tablespoon in the bowl. Add the prunes and process 10 seconds, add the nuts and process another 5 seconds. (believe me, I don’t ever count this! )

Shred the carrots- there should be about 3 cups, add to the prune mix.

Mix the sugar and eggs about 1 minute, add the oil and blend until fluffy

Add dry ingredients, pulse a few times, add raisins, carrots, and 1 tsp. vanilla and blend.

Pour into pan- bake about 55 minutes.

Let cool then flip onto a plate and sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.

Of course, ice cream would always be wonderful!  

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

