Did I forget the sugar?

I made two easy desserts this afternoon.

Crustless coconut custard pie—so yummy and easy- and without the crust, you can eat more! This was from my friend Stacey’s blog http://www.staceysnacksonline.com/.

While this pie was in the oven, I prepared the batter for Banana Chocolate Chip Cake. I found this years ago on epicurious.com – it’s from  Bon Appetit, January 2003.

I add  more nuts and chocolate.  Maybe an extra ¼ cup. My mother always advised cutting the sugar, so I do by a few teaspoons, but not drastically. I also use margarine or Promise instead of butter. With chocolate, no need for butter.  This time I used sour cream instead of buttermilk because that’s what I had. You could also use plain yogurt.   We eat  a lot of bananas- so inevitably they turn brown before we consume them. I freeze them, unpeeled, in a plastic bag. (good way to recycle those annoying bags newspapers come in).  Defrost in the microwave a few minutes and squirt into the mixer.

But while I was making the batter and checking the pie, I had a few phone calls.  I was all ready to put the batter into the pan when I stopped myself. I put a finger into the batter;  it tasted sort of like baking soda and not sweet. Did I put the sugar in? I couldn’t remember so added some more. Anyway, it came out fine.

Here’s the recipe:

                 Chocolate Chip Banana Cake

1 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips (about 8 ounces)

2/3 cup (packed) golden brown sugar

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 large egg

1 1/3 cups mashed very ripe bananas (about 3 large)

3 tablespoons buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 8x8x2-inch metal baking pan. Stir chocolate chips, brown sugar, walnuts, and cinnamon in small bowl until well blended; set streusel aside. Sift all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat sugar, room temperature butter, and egg in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in mashed bananas and buttermilk. Add dry ingredients and blend well.

Spread half of batter (about 2 cups) in prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with half of streusel. Repeat with remaining batter and streusel. Bake coffee cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Cool coffee cake in pan on rack.  ( I have a convention oven so cut the time about 15 minutes.)  This cake freezes well too.

I’ve made this for runners and cyclists – perfect recharging food.  Enjoy!

About cyclingrandma

I was a journalist (Danbury News-Times, Ct), before becoming a teacher, and continue to write for professional journals. I have written several study guides for Penguin Books and write for Education Update, a newspaper based in New York City. (www.educationupdate.com). I’ve interviewed many authors, college presidents, and scientists. I wrote “The Kentucky Derby’s Forgotten Jockeys” for Smithsonian Magazine's website, www.smithsonian.com. (April, 2009). Two essays have been published in book anthologies; one for Wisdom of Our Mothers, (Familia Books) and the other in “College Search and Parent Rescue: Essay for Parents by Parents of College-Going Students.” (St. Martin’s Press). I was a middle school Language Arts teacher for more than 10 years and have just completed a five year grant position under No Child Left Behind in Newark, NJ public schools. I have three children, two daughters-in law, and six grandchildren. I'm an avid cyclist, knitter, cook, and reader. I love theater, museums, and yoga.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did I forget the sugar?

  1. Naomi says:

    Sounds good but I wouldn’t store the bananas in the newspaper bags unless you don’t mind eating the ink residue left from the newspapers.

    Like

  2. Nathan says:

    I’m not much for coconut but that’s a great idea about what to do with the bananas. I’ll have to try that. I think Naomi may be right about the ink residue though, but then again they’re already in the skin so the ink would only get on the skin, in which case, the actual banana should be fine.

    Like

  3. Keep up the good work on this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

